BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - The Asylum and Migration Information Centre

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Putting people first: providing security, creating opportunities, embracing change

The Asylum and Migration Information Centre

The Asylum and Migration Information Centre (IZAM) is the Federal Office’s central specialist information facility. The Information Centre compiles reliable, comprehensive and up-to-date information on migrants’ states of origin and transit, as well as on world refugee and migration movements and their causes. Literature and media reports are evaluated on the topics of integration, as well as on the law on asylum and residence, geography and human rights, in addition to sources for migration research.

The Information Centre is sub-divided into a library, documentation areas and the country analysis. A team of librarians, documentalists, lawyers, political scientists and other research assistants collects and processes the information.

The following range of activities is carried out with regard to the focal topics of asylum, migration, integration and returns:

  • documentation of the press, expert reports and official information in the proceedings in accordance with the Asylum Act, case-law related to the law on asylum and residence
  • analysis of the situation in the countries of origin and transit, as well as topical reports on current issues
  • Information Agency for internal and external enquiries

The IZAM makes its databases /information collections available via the MILo (Migrations-InfoLogistik) information system both to the staff of the Federal Office and to external users. The database of the Information Centre for Voluntary Return (ZIRF), which contains information on voluntary return and assisted returns, is integrated into MILo. MILo has more than 2,000 registered external users, including colleagues from more than 20 European countries. Anyone who is interested can also research in MILo via the Internet with a guest login.

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Informationszentrum Asyl und Migration

Navigation und Service

Informationszentrum Asyl und Migration

Das Informationszentrum Asyl und Migration (IZAM) ist die zentrale Fachinformationseinrichtung des Bundesamtes. Das Informationszentrum stellt verlässliche, umfassende und aktuelle Informationen über Herkunfts- und Transitstaaten von Migrantinnen und Migranten, das Weltflüchtlings- und Migrationsgeschehen und dessen Ursachen zusammen. Ausgewertet werden Literatur und Medienberichte zu den Themen Integration, Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht, Länderkunde und Menschenrechte sowie Quellen für die Migrationsforschung.

Das Informationszentrum gliedert sich in Bibliothek, Dokumentationsbereiche und die Länderanalyse. Ein Team von Bibliothekaren, Dokumentarinnen, Juristen, Politologinnen und anderen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden sammelt und bereitet die Informationen auf.

Zu den Schwerpunkten Asyl, Migration, Integration und Rückkehr besteht folgendes Angebot:

  • Dokumentation von Presse, Gutachten und amtlichen Auskünften in den Verfahren nach dem Asylgesetz, Rechtsprechung zum Asyl- und Aufenthaltsrecht
  • Analyse der Situation in den Herkunfts- und Transitländern sowie thematischen Ausarbeitungen zu aktuellen Fragestellungen
  • Informationsvermittlungsstelle (IVS) für in- und externe Anfragen 

Überdas Informationssystem MILo (Migrations-InfoLogistik) stellt das IZAM seine Datenbanken/Informationssammlungen sowohl den Mitarbeitenden des Bundesamtes als auch externen Nutzenden zur Verfügung. In MILo integriert ist die Datenbank der Zentralstelle für  Informationsvermittlung zur Rückkehrförderung (ZIRF) mit Informationen zur freiwilligen Rückkehr und Rückkehrförderung. MILo hat über 2.000 registrierte externe Nutzende, darunter auch Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus mehr als 20 europäischen Staaten. Interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger können in MILo über das Internet per Gastzugang recherchieren.

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien