BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Federal Office

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focusing on people - offering security. Creating opportunities. Living change.

Federal Office

From the administrative office to the Federal Office

The history of the Federal Office began in 1946 at the end of the Second World War with the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) organising accommodation for homeless foreign nationals, or displaced persons, in the premises of the former prisoner of war camp at Langwasser. At first, it was primarily Latvians and Estonians who were accommodated in the premises made available by the US armed forces. The inmates named the camp Valka, after the border town that was divided between the Latvians and Estonians following the First World War.

With most of the original inmates having emigrated to America by 1947, the UNRRA's successor organisation passed the Valka Camp to the newly founded German refugee authorities.

Federal Authority for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees

With the adoption of the Convention concerning the Legal Status of Refugees, the Geneva Convention, in 1953, the Federal Authority for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees was founded. This authority, which was subsequently to become the Federal Office, and its 40 employees were responsible from this point on for refugees' asylum applications. These refugees also lived in the Valka Camp, in the new federal holding camps for foreigners, where they were looked after until a decision was made about where they would finally live.

The Valka Camp was closed in May 1960. The remaining refugees were then accommodated in the former police barracks at Zirndorf, which had been used for the purpose of accommodating refugees since as early as 1955. The Government had set up two new accommodation buildings there. The Federal Authority's employees followed a year later to work in the newly built administration building.

Federal Office for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees

With the passing of the Foreign Nationals Act on 28 April 1965, the Federal Authority was renamed the Federal Office for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees. Apart from the events of the "Prague Spring", which caused a wave of refugees, the number of asylum applications remained at a low level for the employees, who now numbered approximately 60.

The number of asylum applications drastically increased with the civil-war-like circumstances in Turkey in 1974 and reached a record of over 100,000 applications in 1980, of which 55,000 applications were from Turkish nationals alone. The Federal Office took action. The authority was expanded, employing 240 staff by 1980. The holding camp with officially only 450 places was regularly overcrowded.

With the collapse of the Soviet Union and the subsequent flood of refugees, the numbers of asylum applications continued to increase. In 1992, approximately 438,000 people applied for asylum in the Federal Republic of Germany. This high number of asylum applicants resulted in organisational changes and an increase in staff. The Federal Office set up a total of 48 branch offices in the Federal Länder and employed over 4,000 staff in this period.

Having leased several different office buildings for the headquarters in the municipal area of Nuremberg, the Government moved the main offices to Nuremberg-Langwasser with effect from 1993. At the end of 1996, the Federal Office moved its 800 staff to its present headquarters in Frankenstrasse – an address steeped in history; known throughout the town as the "Südkaserne" (southern barracks).

Following the asylum compromise, adopted in 1993, the number of asylum applications has fallen sharply. An extensive restructuring process for the Federal Office for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees followed, reaching its climax with the implementation of the Immigration Act in 2005. The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees evolved out of the Federal Office for the Recognition of Foreign Refugees.

The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees

As a result of the new legal regulations introduced by the Immigration Act, in addition to the asylum process, the new Federal Office for Migration and Refugees also acquired extensive tasks in the area of integration and migration. Some existing tasks were also centralised at the Federal Office such as maintaining the central register of foreign nationals and other tasks in the area of promoting voluntary repatriation. As a result, over the past decade, the Federal Office has developed from being purely an asylum authority to a competence centre for migration and integration.

Today, the Federal Office, with its 22 branch offices and four external sites, employs approximately 2,000 staff, of whom 1,000 work at its headquarters in Nuremberg.

Date 5 May 2011

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

Wichtige Mitteilung

Warning!

There have been several occasions very recently in which people have pretended to be employees of the Federal Office and asked for an interview at which they questioned asylum applicants intensively. This took place in some cases on the pretext that a second hearing was allegedly needed. Important: The Federal Office does not conduct home visits! These individuals do not work for the Federal Office. The Federal Office has therefore filed criminal charges. If something similar happens to you, or if you observe anything of this nature as a carer, please report this to your local police station.Interviewers from reputable survey institutes who are currently conducting interviews as part of research projects in which data are collected on a voluntary basis clearly state who they are working for. They also give the name of the survey institute and prove this by showing the appropriate documentation. This means that you can make enquiries should you have any doubts.

Fraud Phone Calls

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Bundesamt

Navigation und Service

zur Startseite

Den Menschen im Blick. Schützen. Integrieren.

Bundesamt

Von der Dienststelle zum Bundesamt

In der vom Wandel geprägten Geschichte des Bundesamts spiegeln sich Ereignisse und Entwicklungen rund um die bundesdeutsche Flüchtlings- und Asylpolitik bis hin zum heutigen Migrations- und Integrationsgeschehen wider.

Die Geschichte des Bundesamts beginnt nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs 1946 mit der Unterbringung heimatloser Ausländer, den sogenannten Displaced Persons, auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Kriegsgefangenenlagers Langwasser durch die Nothilfe- und Wiederaufbauverwaltung der Vereinten Nationen (UNRRA). In dem von den amerikanischen Streitkräften zur Verfügung gestellten Unterkünften hielten sich zu Beginn vor allem Letten und Esten auf. Diese benannten das Lager nach der infolge des 1. Weltkriegs in zwei Teile geteilten lettisch-estnischen Grenzstadt Valka.

Nachdem die Namensgeber bis 1947 in großer Mehrzahl nach Amerika ausgewandert waren, übergab die Nachfolgeorganisation der UNRRA das "Valka-Lager" an die neu gegründeten deutschen Flüchtlingsbehörden.

Bundesdienststelle für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge

Mit der Übernahme des Abkommens über die Rechtstellung der Flüchtlinge, der Genfer Konvention im Jahr 1953, wurde die Bundesdienststelle für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge gegründet. Der Vorläufer des späteren Bundesamts war mit seinen 40 Mitarbeitern von nun an zuständig für die Asylanträge der Flüchtlinge. Diese wohnten ebenfalls auf dem Areal des Valka- Lagers, im neuen Bundessammellager für Ausländer, wo sie bis zur Bestimmung ihrer endgültigen Unterbringung versorgt wurden.

Im Mai 1960 wurde das Valka- Lager geschlossen. Die verbliebenen Flüchtlinge wurden in der ehemaligen Polizeikaserne von Zirndorf untergebracht, die bereits seit 1955 zur Unterbringung von Flüchtlingen genutzt wurde. Der Bund hatte dort zwei neue Unterkunftsgebäude errichtet. Die Beschäftigten der Bundesdienststelle folgten ein Jahr später in das ebenfalls neu errichtete Verwaltungsgebäude.

Bundesamt für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge

Mit dem Ausländergesetz vom 28. April 1965 wurde die Bundesdienststelle zum "Bundesamt für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge" aufgewertet. Abgesehen von der durch die Ereignisse des "Prager Frühlings" bedingten Flüchtlingswelle, verblieben die zu bearbeitenden Asylantragszahlen für die nunmehr rund 60 Mitarbeiter auf niedrigem Niveau.

Die Zahl der Asylanträge stieg mit den bürgerkriegsähnlichen Zuständen in der Türkei 1974 drastisch an und erreichte 1980 einen Rekord von über 100.000 Anträgen, darunter allein 55.000 Anträge türkischer Staatsangehöriger. Das Bundesamt reagierte: die Behörde wurde bis 1980 auf 240 Mitarbeiter ausgebaut. Das Sammellager mit den offiziell nur 450 Plätzen war regelmäßig überbelegt.

Mit dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion und der anschließend entstehenden Flüchtlingsbewegung stiegen die Asylantragszahlen weiter an. Im Jahr 1992 beantragten ca. 438.000 Menschen Asyl in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Die hohe Zahl an Asylbewerbern führte zu organisatorischen Veränderungen und zu einem Anstieg der Mitarbeiter. Das Bundesamt richtete in den Bundesländern insgesamt 48 Außenstellen ein und beschäftigte in diesen Zeiten über 4.000 Mitarbeiter.

Nachdem der Bund für die Zentrale im Nürnberger Stadtgebiet mehrere verschiedene Bürogebäude angemietet hatte, befand sich diese 1993 in Nürnberg- Langwasser. Ende des Jahres 1996 bezog das Bundesamt mit 800 Mitarbeitern seine heutige Zentrale in der Frankenstraße - ein geschichtsträchtiges Domizil; stadtbekannt als "Südkaserne".

Seit dem 1993 verabschiedeten Asylkompromiss sind die Asylantragszahlen stark gefallen. Für das Bundesamt für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge folgte ein weit reichender Umstrukturierungsprozess, der mit der Umsetzung des Zuwanderungsgesetzes im Jahr 2005 seinen Höhepunkt erreichte. Aus dem Bundesamt für die Anerkennung ausländischer Flüchtlinge wurde das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge.

Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge

Das neue Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge erhielt durch das Zuwanderungsgesetz neben dem Asylverfahren umfangreiche Aufgaben im Bereich der Integration und der Migration. Daneben wurden auch einige bereits bestehende Aufgaben wie die der Führung des Ausländerzentralregisters und im Bereich der Rückkehrförderung beim Bundesamt gebündelt. Somit hat sich das Bundesamt in der letzten Dekade von einer reinen Asylbehörde zu einem Kompetenzzentrum für Migration und Integration entwickelt.

Heute sind im Bundesamt mit seinen 22 Außenstellen und vier externen Standorten ca. 2.000 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt, davon ca. 1.000 in der Nürnberger Zentrale.

Datum 18.01.2011

Wir freuen uns auf Ihr Feedback

Bewertung des Artikels

* Pflichtangabe

Helfen Sie, die Internetseite zu optimieren. Schreiben Sie uns, was Ihnen gefällt und was wir besser machen können. Ihre Meinung ist uns wichtig. Ihre Internetredaktion

Zusatzinformationen

Fraud Phone Calls!
Falsche Drohanrufe!

Rotes Warnsymbol und Schriftzug "Vorsicht!"

Further Information: Click here!
Weitere Informationen: Hier klicken!