BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - EMN Glossary

Navigation and service

to welcome page

European Migration Network
National Contact Point for Germany
Jubiläumslogo des Europäischen Migrationsnetzwerks

EMN Glossary - latest version

To develop a standard usage of terms in migration

Development of uniform usage in asylum and migration

The Asylum and Migration Glossary is one of the key products of the European Migration Network (EMN), and provides definitions of terms relating to asylum and migration, with the aim of promoting a common understanding in the European Union through the consistent use of terms and definitions, and thereby improving comparability between EU Member States. Since its first edition was released in January 2010, the Glossary has been increasingly used throughout the European Commission’s Migration, Home Affairs and Justice spheres, thus contributing to the development of common terminology and definitions in Union legislation, as well as in practical application by the EU Member States.

The Glossary focuses on legal terms and concepts taken from the EU acquis on asylum and migration. Additionally, the Glossary takes into account concepts from demographic, sociological and economic contexts. Furthermore, developments in the external dimension are increasingly being included, as are terms that are relevant to practical cooperation within asylum and migration.

The Glossary contains a definition for each term indicating the source. All terms are translated into all languages of EU Member States (+ Norway, but not including Denmark). The Glossary furthermore contains a large number of cross-references between terms (synonyms, broader and narrower terms, related terms); hyperlinks enable rapid navigation between the terms and the underlying sources. Where necessary, the terms contain extensive notesexplanations of the terminology used in different disciplines, or of deviations in the international or national context. The notes also contain up-to-date information and/or links to websites containing additional information.

Regularly updated by the EMN’s Glossary and Thesaurus Working Group

The Glossary is regularly updated by the EMN’s Glossary and Thesaurus Working Group. The latest complete revision (version 6.0) was published in May 2018, commemorating the 10th anniversary of the EMN. It contains almost 470 terms as per March 2018, and takes into account all new terms that have been introduced since the publication of the European Agenda on Migration of May 2015 through new legislation or policies in the EU. In addition, the new edition contains updates and revisions of existing terms.

The EMN Glossary is available in several editions. The most recent version is the English version, which is accessible as an interactive online version via the EMN website. It can also be downloaded there as a printable PDF version.

Given that it is a translation of the previous English version 5.0, the German edition is not quite as up-to-date and comprehensive. It contains more than 440 terms with definitions and explanations, and reflects the level of information of December 2016. It was created as a co-production between the National Contact Points of Austria, Luxembourg and Germany, can be downloaded as a printable PDF version via the German EMN, and has also been published as a printed version.

Date 27 August 2018

Additional Information

Co-Financed by the European Union

Co-Financed by the European Union
Cover "EMN Glossary 6.0"

EMN Glossary 6.0 "Asylum and Migration"

The purpose of the glossary is to provide common definitions and understanding of terms in the field of asylum and migration.

More: EMN Glossary 6.0 "Asylum and Migration" …

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - EMN-Glossar

Navigation und Service

zur Startseite

Europäisches Migrationsnetzwerk
Nationale Kontaktstelle Deutschland
Jubiläumslogo des Europäischen Migrationsnetzwerks

EMN-Glossar aktualisiert

Entwicklung eines einheitlichen Sprachgebrauchs im Bereich Asyl und Migration

Das Glossar Asyl und Migration ist eines der Kernprodukte des Europäischen Migrationsnetzwerks (EMN), es stellt Definitionen zu Begriffen aus den Bereichen Asyl und Migration zur Verfügung mit dem Ziel, ein gemeinsames Verständnis in der Europäischen Union durch die einheitliche Verwendung von Fachbegriffen zu fördern und dadurch die Vergleichbarkeit zwischen den EU-Mitgliedstaaten zu verbessern. Seit der Erstausgabe im Januar 2010 wird das Glossar zunehmend im gesamten Bereich Migration und Inneres sowie der Justiz der Europäischen Kommission genutzt und hat so zur Entwicklung einer einheitlichen Terminologie und Definitionen in der EU-Gesetzgebung, aber auch in der praktischen Anwendung der EU-Mitgliedstaaten beigetragen.

Der Schwerpunkt des Glossars liegt auf rechtlichen Begriffen und Konzepten aus dem EU-Acquis, das Glossar berücksichtigt darüber hinaus aber auch Begriffe aus dem demografischen, soziologischen und wirtschaftlichen Kontext. Außerdem wird verstärkt der internationale Kontext einbezogen sowie Begriffe, die für die praktische Zusammenarbeit im Asyl- und Migrationsbereich relevant sind.

Das Glossar enthält zu jedem Begriff eine Definition mit Angabe der Quelle. Alle Begriffe werden in sämtliche Sprachen der EU-Mitgliedstaaten übersetzt (+ Norwegen, ohne Dänemark). Darüber hinaus enthält das Glossar eine Vielzahl von Begriffsrelationen (Synonyme, Ober- und Unterbegriffe, verwandte Begriffe); Hyperlinks ermöglichen das schnelle Navigieren zwischen den Begriffen und den zugrundeliegenden Quellen. Soweit erforderlich, enthalten die Begriffe umfangreiche Erläuterungen zur Terminologie in unterschiedlichen Fachdisziplinen oder zu Abweichungen im internationalen bzw. nationalen Kontext. Die Anwendungshinweise enthalten auch aktuelle Informationen bzw. Links zu Websites mit weiterführenden Informationen.

Ständige Aktualisierung durch die Glossar-Arbeitsgruppe des EMN

Das Glossar wird regelmäßig durch die Glossar- und Thesaurus-Arbeitsgruppe des EMN aktualisiert. Die letzte komplette Überarbeitung (Version 6.0) wurde im Mai 2018 anlässlich des 10jährigen Bestehens des EMN veröffentlicht, sie enthält fast 470 Begriffe mit dem Informationsstand März 2018 und berücksichtigt sämtliche neuen Begriffe, die seit Veröffentlichung der Europäischen Agenda zu Migration von Mai 2015 durch neue Gesetzgebung oder Politik in der EU eingeführt wurden. Außerdem enthält die Neuauflage Aktualisierungen und Überarbeitungen bereits bestehender Begriffe.

Das EMN-Glossar steht in verschiedenen Ausgaben zur Verfügung. Die aktuellste Version ist die englische Version, die als interaktive online-Version über die EMN-Webseite der Europäischen Kommission zugänglich ist. Sie kann dort auch als druckfertige pdf-Version abgerufen werden. Den Link zur EMN-Internetseite finden Sie in der rechten Spalte.

Die deutsche Neuausgabe ist als Übersetzung der englischen Vorgängerversion 5.0 nicht ganz so aktuell und umfangreich. Sie enthält über 440 Begriffe mit Definitionen und Erläuterungen und spiegelt den Informationsstand von Dezember 2016 wider. Sie ist in  Gemeinschaftsproduktion der nationalen Kontaktpunkte Österreichs, Luxemburgs und Deutschlands entstanden. Sie kann als druckfähige pdf-Version über die deutsche EMN-Webseite oder über den Link in der rechten Spalte abgerufen werden und ist auch als Druckausgabe erschienen.

Datum 09.08.2018

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien