BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - The personal interview

Navigation and service

The personal interview

The personal interview is the applicant’s most important appointment within his/her asylum procedure. Advice is therefore available when it comes to preparing for the interview from organisations providing aid, charitable associations or municipal facilities. It is also possible to consult the Asylum Social Counselling service.

It is the "decision-makers" who are responsible for holding the interviews at the Federal Office. They invite applicants to attend this appointment, where an interpreter will also be on hand.

Applicants absolutely must attend this appointment, or they must state in good time and in writing why they are unable to attend on that particular day. If they do not do so, their asylum application can be turned down or the proceedings discontinued without them being questioned once more as to the reasons why they failed to attend.

If the individual is ill on that day or is likely to arrive late, this needs to be notified by telephone on the very same day, and the doctor’s note needs to be forwarded by post in case of illness.

If the individual is unable to attend at the time stated in the summons because of the considerable distance to be travelled, and is therefore likely to arrive late, it is necessary to state in writing or telephone at the latest one day in advance the earliest time at which it is possible to attend an appointment. This enables the staff on the spot to plan their appointments better.

The interview

The interviews are not public, but they may be attended by an attorney or by a representative of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), and by a guardian in the case of unaccompanied minors. It is fundamentally possible for another person enjoying the applicant’s trust to attend in order to provide assistance. This individual must be able to identify himself or herself, and may not personally be in the asylum procedure, or their hearing date may not be in the immediate future.

The objective of the interviews is to learn of the individual reasons for flight, to obtain more information and to resolve contradictions. To this end, the decision-makers are familiar with the circumstances prevailing in the applicants’ countries of origin. How long an interview lasts very much depends on the persecution which an individual has suffered and on the applicants themselves.

Applicants are afforded sufficient time during the interview to present their respective reasons for taking flight. They describe their biographies and situations, tell of their travel route and of the persecution which they have personally suffered. They also assess what would await them were they to return to their country of origin. They are obliged to state the truth at all times and to provide any evidence which they have been able to obtain. These may be photographs, documents from the police or other authorities, and possibly also medical reports. The Federal Office may not be able to take facts, incidents or documents which applicants are unable to state or present during the interview into account later or in court proceedings.

The descriptions are interpreted and minutes are taken, and are then translated back for the applicant after the interview. This enables them to add to what they have said, or to make corrections. They are then presented with the minutes for them to approve them by signing them.
The appointment is postponed should problems of understanding or health-related problems occur during the interview.

display as attention: Important information

Participation by the UNHCR

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) monitors in order to ensure compliance with the Geneva Refugee Convention. If the UNHCR requests information for his work, the Federal Office provides it. The UNHCR may also attend interviews in the asylum procedure. He may furthermore inspect the decisions of the Federal Office and their reasoning in order to perform his tasks.

Special circumstances

If it is necessary for the applicant for personal reasons, where possible the interview can be carried out or continued by a person of the same sex, and an interpreter of the same sex can attend.

The Federal Office has specially-trained decision-makers dealing with gender-specific human rights violations such as rape, other types of sexual abuse and threat of genital mutilation.

This also applies to victims of torture and trauma or to victims of human trafficking, as well as to unaccompanied minors. The Federal Office furthermore has specially-trained specially-commissioned case-officers to deal with this (see Decision-makers).

Applicants should express such a wish as early as possible prior to the interview, ideally as soon as they file their application.

Relocation and changes of address

If applicants move house during the asylum procedure, or if they are relocated to a different accommodation, they need to inform the Federal Office, the immigration authority and possibly also the court, of their new address. This is vital as letters are always sent to the address most recently notified to the authority, and are considered to have been delivered there.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Background information

Identity checks

Should there be any doubts as to applicants’ identity, the Federal Office carries out an examination using language and text analyses with the involvement of language experts. Such cases are reported to the Federal Office’s own Security division. The division works closely with the Joint Extremism and Counter-Terrorism Centre (GETZ) and with the Joint Counter-Terrorism Centre (GTAZ). Secondly, it carries out an automatic data comparison with the security authorities within the bounds imposed by privacy laws.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: The legal basis

The legal basis for the implementation of the interview can be found in sections 24 and 25 of the Asylum Act (AsylG).

  • Obligations incumbent on the Federal Office in accordance with section 24 subs. 1 sentence 3 of the Asylum Act: The Federal Office is obliged to interview the individual in person.
  • Interview in accordance with section 25 subs. 1 of the Asylum Act: During the personal hearing, the individual must personally submit the facts which justify his/her fear of persecution or the danger of the threat of serious injury, and must provide the requisite information. The necessary information includes places of residence, transit routes, stays in other countries and whether asylum proceedings have already been initiated or implemented in other states or in Germany.
    They must also state all other facts and circumstances opposing deportation (section 25 subs. 2 of the Asylum Act).
    If these facts and circumstances are submitted late, they do not need to be taken into consideration (section 25 subs. 3 of the Asylum Act).

The legal basis for the identity checks is constituted by section 16 of the Asylum Act

Asylum Act

Date 9 December 2016

© 2017 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Persönliche Anhörung

Navigation und Service

Persönliche Anhörung

Die persönliche Anhörung ist für die Antragstellenden der wichtigste Termin innerhalb ihres Asylverfahrens. Deswegen bieten in der Vorbereitung auf das Gespräch Hilfsorganisationen, Wohlfahrtsverbände oder städtische Einrichtungen Beratung an. Auch die Asylsozialberatung kann in Anspruch genommen werden.

Beim Bundesamt sind die sogenannten Entscheiderinnen und Entscheider für die Durchführung der Anhörung zuständig. Sie laden die Antragstellenden zu diesem Termin, an dem auch eine Dolmetscherin oder ein Dolmetscher anwesend ist.

Diesen Termin müssen die Antragstellenden unbedingt wahrnehmen oder rechtzeitig schriftlich mitteilen, warum ihnen das Erscheinen an diesem Tag nicht möglich ist. Wenn nicht, kann ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt oder das Verfahren eingestellt werden, ohne dass sie noch mal zu den Gründen, warum sie nicht erschienen sind, befragt werden.

Sollte die Person an dem Tag krank sein oder sich verspäten, muss das am selben Tag noch telefonisch mitgeteilt und bei Krankheit das ärztliche Attest per Post nachgereicht werden.

Kann die Person, die in der Ladung genannte Uhrzeit aufgrund einer langen Anreise nicht einhalten und sich verspäten, sollte spätestens bis zu einem Tag vorher schriftlich oder telefonisch mitgeteilt werden, ab welcher Uhrzeit der Termin wahrgenommen werden kann. Dann können die Mitarbeitenden vor Ort die Termine besser einplanen.

Anhörung

Die Anhörungen sind nicht öffentlich. Es können aber eine Rechtsanwältin oder ein Rechtsanwalt sowie eine Vertreterin oder ein Vertreter des Hohen Flüchtlingskommissars der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR) und bei Unbegleiteten Minderjährigen ihr Vormund teilnehmen. Die Teilnahme einer weiteren Vertrauensperson als Beistand ist grundsätzlich möglich. Diese Person muss sich ausweisen können und darf selbst nicht im Asylverfahren sein beziehungsweise unmittelbar vor dem eigenen Anhörungstermin stehen.

Das Ziel der Anhörungen ist es, die individuellen Fluchtgründe zu erfahren, tiefere Erkenntnisse zu erhalten sowie Widersprüche aufzuklären. Dabei sind die Entscheiderinnen und Entscheider mit den Verhältnissen in den Herkunftsstaaten der Antragstellenden vertraut.Wie lange eine Anhörung dauert, hängt stark vom Verfolgungsschicksal und von den Antragstellenden selbst ab.

Während der Anhörung erhalten die Antragstellenden ausreichend Zeit, um ihre jeweiligen Fluchtgründe zu schildern. Sie stellen ihren Lebenslauf und ihre Lebensumstände dar, schildern den Reiseweg und ihr eigenes Verfolgungsschicksal. Außerdem äußern sie ihre Einschätzung der Umstände, die sie bei einer Rückkehr in ihr Herkunftsland erwarten. Bei alldem sind sie verpflichtet, wahrheitsgemäße Angaben zu machen und Beweismittel vorzulegen, sofern sie diese beschaffen können. Das können Fotos sein, Schriftstücke von der Polizei oder anderen Behörden, gegebenenfalls auch ärztliche Atteste. Die Tatsachen, Vorfälle oder Unterlagen, die die Antragstellenden nicht während der Anhörung vortragen oder vorlegen, können gegebenenfalls später weder beim Bundesamt noch in einem gerichtlichen Verfahren berücksichtigt werden.

Die Schilderungen werden übersetzt und protokolliert und im Anschluss an die Anhörung für die Antragstellenden rückübersetzt. Sie bekommen so Gelegenheit, das Gesagte zu ergänzen oder zu korrigieren. Schließlich wird ihnen das Protokoll zur Genehmigung durch die Unterschrift vorgelegt.

Wenn Verständigungsprobleme oder gesundheitliche Gründe bei der Anhörung vorliegen oder auftreten, wird der Termin verschoben.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Wichtige Informationen

Beteiligung des UNHCR

Der Hohe Flüchtlingskommissar der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR) wacht darüber, dass die Genfer Flüchtlingskonvention eingehalten wird. Wenn der UNHCR für seine Arbeit Informationen anfordert, stellt das Bundesamt diese zur Verfügung. Außerdem darf der UNHCR bei Anhörungen im Asylverfahren anwesend sein. Zur Erfüllung seiner Aufgaben darf er die Entscheidungen des Bundesamtes und deren Begründungen einsehen.

Besondere Umstände

Wenn es für Antragstellende aus persönlichen Gründen erforderlich ist, kann die Anhörung – soweit möglich – durch eine Person gleichen Geschlechts unter Hinzuziehung einer gleichgeschlechtlichen Dolmetscherin bzw. Dolmetschers durchgeführt oder fortgeführt werden.

Das Bundesamt hat für den Bereich geschlechtsspezifischer Menschenrechtsverletzungen, wie etwa Vergewaltigung, sonstige sexuelle Misshandlung, drohende Genitalverstümmelung, speziell geschulte Entscheiderinnen und Entscheider.

Das gilt auch für Folteropfer, Traumatisierte oder Opfer von Menschenhandel sowie unbegleitete Minderjährige. Auch hierzu hat das Bundesamt speziell geschulte Sonderbeauftragte (siehe Entscheiderinnen und Entscheider).

Antragstellende sollten einen entsprechenden Wunsch möglichst frühzeitig vor der Anhörung, am besten direkt bei der Antragstellung äußern.

Umzug und Adressänderung

Sollten Antragstellende innerhalb des Asylverfahrens umziehen beziehungsweise in eine andere Unterkunft gebracht werden, müssen sie dem Bundesamt, der Ausländerbehörde und eventuell dem Gericht ihre neue Anschrift mitteilen. Das ist enorm wichtig, weil die Briefe immer an die zuletzt bekannte Anschrift gesendet und als zugestellt vermerkt werden, die den Behörden mitgeteilt wurde.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Hintergrundinformationen

Identitätsprüfung

Bestehen Zweifel an der Identität von Antragstellenden, führt das Bundesamt eine Überprüfung mittels einer Sprach- und Textanalyse durch, zu der Sprachgutachterinnen und Sprachgutachter hinzugezogen werden. Solche Fälle werden dem bundesamtseigenen Sicherheitsreferat gemeldet. Das Referat arbeitet zum einen eng mit dem Gemeinsamen Extremismus- und Terrorismusabwehrzentrum (GETZ) und dem Gemeinsamen Terrorismusabwehrzentrum (GTAZ) zusammen. Zum anderen führt es im Rahmen der datenschutzrechtlichen Möglichkeiten einen automatisierten Datenabgleich mit den Sicherheitsbehörden durch.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Rechtliche Grundlagen

Die Rechtsgrundlagen für die Durchführung der Anhörung finden sich in den §§ 24 und 25 des AsylG.

  • Pflichten des Bundesamtes nach § 24 Abs. 1 Satz 3 AsylG:
    Das Bundesamt hat die Person persönlich anzuhören.
  • Anhörung nach § 25 Abs. 1 AsylG: Die Person muss selbst die Tatsachen vortragen, die ihre Furcht vor Verfolgung oder die Gefahr eines ihr drohenden ernsthaften Schadens begründen, und die erforderlichen Angaben machen. Zu den erforderlichen Angaben gehören auch solche über Wohnsitze, Reisewege, Aufenthalte in anderen Staaten und darüber, ob bereits in anderen Staaten oder im Bundesgebiet ein Asylverfahren eingeleitet wurde oder durchgeführt wird beziehungsweise wurde.
    Sie muss auch alle sonstigen Tatsachen und Umstände angeben, die einer Abschiebung entgegenstehen (§ 25 Abs. 2 AsylG).
    Ein späteres Vorbringen dieser Tatsachen und Umstände kann unberücksichtigt bleiben (§ 25 Abs. 3 AsylG).

Die Rechtsgrundlage für die Identitätsüberprüfung findet sich im § 16 des AsylG

Asylgesetz

Datum 09.12.2016

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien