BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Resettlement and humanitarian reception

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Putting people first: providing security, creating opportunities, embracing change

Resettlement and humanitarian reception

Resettlement

Resettlement is intended to make it possible to permanently receive refugees from third countries. Those concerned have no prospects of becoming integrated in their first state of refuge and are unable to return to their home countries. The "resettlement requirement" is determined by the UNHCR. Resettlement refugees receive a residence title in accordance with section 23 subs. 4 of the Residence Act (Aufenthaltsgesetz), and do not have to go through the asylum procedure.

The selection criteria are as a rule:

  • preserving the integrity of the family unit
  • family or other ties to Germany which promote integration
  • the ability to become integrated (such as the level of schooling/vocational training received, work experience, knowledge of the language)
  • degree of vulnerability.

300 persons in need of protection were received per year in the pilot phase from 2012 to 2014. They were all proposed by the UNHCR. The resettlement quota for 2015 was increased to 500 people in agreement between the Federation and the Länder. The quota of 500 is counted in 2016/2017 against the European Commission’s resettlement programme (Agenda on Migration). The total quota for these two years is 1,600 persons seeking protection. This quota is currently being used for the 1:1 mechanism of the agreement between the EU and Turkey for the reception of Syrian refugees. An additional approx. 200 people are to be received from Lebanon.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: The legal basis

The legal basis for the resettlement procedure is formed by section 23 subs. 4 of the Residence Act.

The persons selected are initially given a time-limited residence permit. It can be extended in line with section 26 subs. 3 sentence 2 of the Residence Act. A settlement permit is to be issued after three years unless conditions are satisfied for withdrawal. The residence permit is subject to the proviso of restricting the place of residence if and as long as benefits are drawn in accordance with Books II or XII of the Social Code (SGB). The provisions contained in sections 27 et seqq. of the Residence Act apply with regard to family reunification.

Residence Act

Humanitarian reception

People can be received in Germany within the humanitarian reception procedure in accordance with section 23 subs. 2 of the Residence Act (AufenthG) who for instance have fled their countries of origin because of an acute crisis situation and rely on humanitarian assistance in the short term.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: The legal basis

The legal basis for the humanitarian reception procedure is formed by section 23 subs. 2 and 3 in conjunction with section 24 of the Residence Act. The Federal Office is responsible for the implementation of the reception and distribution procedure in accordance with section 75 No. 8 of the Residence Act.

The persons selected are initially given a time-limited residence permit. It can be extended subject to section 8 of the Residence Act. The residence permit is issued on proviso of restricting the place of residence if and as long as benefits are drawn in accordance with Books II or XII of the Social Code (SGB). The provisions contained in sections 27 et seqq. of the Residence Act apply with regard to family reunification.

Residence Act

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Background information

Humanitarian reception of Syrian refugees from 2013 to 2015

Expecting that all of Europe would assist in dealing with the humanitarian crisis in Syria and its neighbouring states, the Federal Minister of the Interior decided on 20 March 2013, in agreement with the Ministers and Senators of the Interior of the Länder, to receive up to 5,000 particularly vulnerable Syrians in 2013 for the duration of the conflict. The relevant reception order was handed down on 30 May 2013 in agreement with the Federal Länder. As a follow-up to the Conference of Ministers of the Interior, the Federal Minister of the Interior increased the existing contingent from 4-6 December 2013 by another 5,000 people. The relevant reception order was handed down on 23 December 2013. The contingent was once more increased by order of 18 July 2014, this time by 10,000 persons in need of protection, to a total of 20,000 persons in need of protection. The procedure has now been completed.

Date 1 October 2016

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Resettlement und humanitäre Aufnahme

Navigation und Service

Resettlement und humanitäre Aufnahme

Resettlement

Resettlement soll die dauerhafte Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen aus Drittstaaten ermöglichen. Die Betroffenen haben in dem Land ihrer ersten Zuflucht keine Perspektive auf Integration noch auf eine Rückkehr in ihr Herkunftsland. Der sogenannte Resettlementbedarf wird vom UNHCR festgestellt. Die Resettlementflüchtlinge erhalten einen Aufenthaltstitel nach §23 Abs. 4 Aufenthaltsgesetz und müssen kein Asylverfahren durchlaufen.

Auswahlkriterien sind in der Regel:

  • Wahrung der Einheit der Familie
  • Familiäre oder sonstige integrationsförderliche Bindungen nach Deutschland
  • Integrationsfähigkeit (wie etwa Grad der Schul-/Berufsausbildung, Berufserfahrung, Sprachkenntnisse)
  • Grad der Schutzbedürftigkeit

In der Pilotphase von 2012 bis 2014 wurden pro Jahr 300 Schutzbedürftige aufgenommen. Diese wurden grundsätzlich vom UNHCR vorgeschlagen. Die Resettlementquote für das Jahr 2015 wurde in Einvernehmen zwischen Bund und Ländern auf 500 Personen angehoben. Die 500er-Quote wird in den Jahren 2016/2017 mit dem Resettlementprogramm der EU-KOM (Migrationsagenda) verrechnet. Die Gesamtquote für die zwei Jahre beträgt 1.600 Schutzsuchende. Aktuell wird diese Quote für den 1:1-Mechanismus des EU-Türkei Abkommens für die Aufnahme von syrischen Flüchtlingen genutzt. Zudem sollen ca. 200 Menschen aus dem Libanon aufgenommen werden.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Rechtliche Grundlagen

Rechtsgrundlage für das Resettlementverfahren ist § 23 Absatz 4 AufenthG.

Den ausgewählten Personen wird zunächst eine befristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis erteilt. Die Verlängerung richtet sich nach § 26 Absatz 3, Satz 2 AufenthG. Nach drei Jahren ist eine Niederlassungserlaubnis zu erteilen, es sei denn es liegen die Voraussetzungen für eine Rücknahme vor. Die Aufenthaltserlaubnis ist mit einer wohnsitzbeschränkenden Auflage versehen, soweit und solange Leistungen nach SGB II bzw. XII bezogen werden. Bezüglich des Familiennachzugs gelten die Regelungen der §§ 27 ff. AufenthG.

AufenthG

Humanitäre Aufnahme

Im Rahmen des humanitären Aufnahmeverfahrens nach § 23 Abs. 2 AufenthG können in Deutschland Menschen aufgenommen werden, die z.B. angesichts einer akuten Krisensituation aus ihrem Herkunftsland geflohen und kurzfristig auf humanitäre Hilfe angewiesen sind.

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Rechtliche Grundlagen

Rechtsgrundlage für humanitäre Aufnahmeverfahren ist § 23 Absatz 2, Absatz 3 i.V.m. § 24 AufenthG. Das Bundesamt ist für die Durchführung des Aufnahme- und Verteilverfahrens gem. § 75 Nr. 8 AufenthG zuständig.

Den ausgewählten Personen wird zunächst eine befristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis erteilt. Die Verlängerung richtet sich nach § 8 AufenthG. Die Aufenthaltserlaubnis ist mit einer wohnsitzbeschränkenden Auflage versehen, soweit und solange Leistungen nach SGB II bzw. XII bezogen werden. Bezüglich des Familiennachzugs gelten die Regelungen der §§ 27 ff. AufenthG.

AufenthG

Hervorhebung_Gesetzgebung: Hintergrundinformationen

Humanitäre Aufnahme syrischer Flüchtlinge von 2013-2015

Am 20. März 2013 hat der Bundesminister des Innern im Einvernehmen mit den Innenministern und -senatoren der Länder entschieden, im Vorgriff auf eine erwartete gesamteuropäische Hilfsmaßnahme zur Bewältigung der humanitären Krise in Syrien und dessen Anrainerstaaten im Jahr 2013 bis 5.000 besonders schutzbedürftige Syrerinnen und Syrer für die Dauer des Konflikts aufzunehmen. Am 30.05.2013 wurde die entsprechende Aufnahmeanordnung im Benehmen mit den Bundesländern erlassen. Der Bundesminister des Innern hat im Nachgang zur Innenministerkonferenz vom 04. -06.12.2013 das bestehende Kontingent um weitere 5.000 Menschen erhöht. Die entsprechende Aufnahmeanordnung wurde am 23.12.2013 erlassen. Mit Anordnung vom 18.07.2014 wurde das Kontingent nochmals um diesmal 10.000 Schutzbedürftige auf somit insgesamt 20.000 Schutzbedürftige erweitert. Das Verfahren ist mittlerweile abgeschlossen.

Datum 01.08.2016

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien