BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - AnerkennungBeruf

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Putting people first: providing security, creating opportunities, embracing change

Questions concerning "Recognition of foreign professional qualifications"

Who is entitled to apply?

Applications can be made by anyone who has successfully completed professional training outside Germany. Important: Your nationality is not relevant to the process. Nor do you need to have a residence permit.

Can the application be made from abroad?

You can apply if you do not live in Germany. You must simply have a professional qualification that you have gained outside Germany and prove that you intend to work in Germany.

How much does the process cost?

The fees are set by the office responsible. Therefore you should find out about the likely costs in advance of making your application. If you are registered as looking for work or receive state benefits, the costs can be met by state offices under certain conditions.

Where should the application be made?

The application should be made at the chamber or authority responsible for the respective professional training and entry to the profession. Above all, in the case of professions requiring apprenticeships, the application should be made to the local Chambers of Commerce and Industry and Chambers of Trade. For regulated professions this is usually the authorities responsible for the relevant profession in the respective Land.

Which documents are required for the process?

Your foreign qualifications and professional qualification certificates must be submitted. As a rule, at least if the applicant is in Germany, original documents or certified copies are required. The responsible offices may in certain cases allow simple copies to be sufficient if these are adequate. As a rule the documents must be translated into German.

You will need the following documents to make your application:

  • Tabular overview of education and employment to date (in German)
  • Proof of identity (personal identification card or passport)
  • Proof of the final qualification acquired in the foreign country
  • Proof of relevant professional experience and further training courses
  • Declaration that to date you have not applied for an equivalency check
  • Proof that you wish to work in Germany (not applicable for nationals of the European Union, the European Economic Area or Switzerland or for people resident in these countries)

How long does the process take?

With effect from 1 December 2012, if all documents are complete, the process should as a rule not take longer than three months.

What are the options if the application is rejected?

If the authority decides that there are significant differences in training, there is the option of taking further training. In the area of regulated professions it is obligatory to attend adaptation measures (course or exam) if significant differences have been established. If you are unsuccessful in passing the adaptation measure, you may not practice your profession in Germany. Courses and exams are offered by the Federal Länder. As a rule, the costs of adaptation measures are to be borne by the applicant. In certain circumstances, financial support can be offered by the Employment Agencies or the providers of basic social security as part of their support of professional training.

There is no obligation for further qualification for non-regulated professions (professions requiring apprenticeships). Applicants can work in these professions without having their qualifications checked for equivalency. The available qualifications will be documented in the ruling and the significant differences to the comparable profession in Germany will be explained. This will help the applicant and the prospective employer. On this basis, applicants can take further training courses to improve their chances in the labour market and, if necessary, to allow them to achieve full equivalency in their professional qualifications. Under certain conditions, further training can be funded by the Employment Agencies or providers of basic social security as part of their support of professional training.

What is recognised by law?

Professional qualifications which have been acquired outside Germany can be compared with a German profession in the recognition process.

This recognition is important, particularly for qualifications in regulated professions, to which access is regulated by the state. These professions include doctors, caring for the sick and elderly, pharmacists, lawyers and master craftsmen. For these professions, checks will be made to see if the foreign professional qualification is equivalent to the German professional qualification. If this is not the case, there are adaptation measures, i.e. examinations or courses available to achieve the required standard. Without these the applicant cannot practise the profession in question in Germany.

There are however regulated professions the regulation of which falls within the jurisdiction of the individual Federal Länder. These professions include educators, teachers and architectural and engineering professions. Legal regulations are prepared in the Länder so that these professions can be recognised.

Qualifications in non-regulated professions, i.e. particularly in the professions requiring apprenticeships in the "dual system", can also be recognised. For these professions, checks will also be made to see if the foreign professional qualification is equivalent to the German professional qualification. If there is no equivalency, a certificate will be issued which will document the qualifications as they stand and the deficiencies compared with the German qualification as a reference. This will allow potential employers to assess applicants with foreign qualifications. In addition, those affected also have the option of attending relevant qualification measures and then, if necessary, making a new application for recognition.

Where can I find out more information?

You can find out if your profession is regulated in Germany, which laws apply to the regulation and which office you must contact to have your qualifications checked by visiting www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de. Here you will find advisory offices in your region.

You can also obtain initial information from the hotline for recognising foreign professional qualifications at the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees on telephone number: +49 30-1815-1111.

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

Wichtige Mitteilung

Warning!

There have been several occasions very recently in which people have pretended to be employees of the Federal Office and asked for an interview at which they questioned asylum applicants intensively. This took place in some cases on the pretext that a second hearing was allegedly needed. Important: The Federal Office does not conduct home visits! These individuals do not work for the Federal Office. The Federal Office has therefore filed criminal charges. If something similar happens to you, or if you observe anything of this nature as a carer, please report this to your local police station.Interviewers from reputable survey institutes who are currently conducting interviews as part of research projects in which data are collected on a voluntary basis clearly state who they are working for. They also give the name of the survey institute and prove this by showing the appropriate documentation. This means that you can make enquiries should you have any doubts.

Fraud Phone Calls

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsabschlüsse

Navigation und Service

FAQ: Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsabschlüsse

Wer hat nach dem neuen Gesetz Anspruch auf Anerkennung?

Anträge können von allen Personen, die im Ausland erfolgreich eine Berufsausbildung abgeschlossen haben, gestellt werden. Wichtig: Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit ist für das Verfahren nicht entscheidend. Auch eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis brauchen Sie nicht.

Kann der Antrag auch aus dem Ausland gestellt werden?

Sie können einen Antrag stellen, wenn Sie nicht in Deutschland leben. Sie müssen lediglich einen im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss haben und nachweisen, dass Sie die Absicht haben, in Deutschland zu arbeiten.

Was kostet das Verfahren?

Die Gebühren werden von der jeweils zuständigen Stelle festgelegt. Informieren Sie sich daher bereits vor der Antragstellung über die voraussichtlichen Kosten. Sollten Sie arbeitssuchend gemeldet sein oder Sozialleistungen beziehen, können die Kosten unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen durch staatliche Stellen übernommen werden.

Wo kann man einen Antrag stellen?

Der Antrag wird bei der für die jeweilige Berufsausbildung und den Berufszugang zuständigen Kammer oder Behörden gestellt. Bei den Ausbildungsberufen sind das vor allem die Industrie‐und Handelskammern und Handwerkskammern vor Ort. Bei den reglementierten Berufen sind dies zumeist die für den jeweiligen Beruf zuständigen Länderbehörden.

Welche Unterlagen sind für das Verfahren erforderlich?

Vorgelegt werden müssen Auslandsnachweise und Bescheinigungen über die Berufsqualifikationen. In der Regel sind hier – zumindest wenn die Antragstellenden in Deutschland sind – Originale oder beglaubigte Kopien erforderlich. Die zuständigen Stellen können jedoch abweichend auch einfache Kopien gelten lassen, wenn diese ausreichend sind. In der Regel sollen die Unterlagen ins Deutsche übersetzt werden.

Folgende Unterlagen benötigen Sie für die Antragstellung:

  • Tabellarische Übersicht über Ausbildung und bisherige Berufstätigkeit (in deutscher Sprache)
  • Identitätsnachweis (Personalausweis oder Reisepass)
  • Nachweis des im Ausland erworbenen Ausbildungsabschlusses
  • Nachweise über einschlägige Berufserfahrung und Weiterbildungen
  • Erklärung, dass bisher kein Antrag auf Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung gestellt wurde
  • Nachweis, dass Sie in Deutschland arbeiten wollen (entfällt für Staatsangehörige der Europäischen Union, des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums und der Schweiz sowie für Personen mit Wohnsitz in diesen Ländern)

Wie lange dauert das Verfahren?

Wenn alle Unterlagen vollständig sind, soll das Verfahren ab 1. Dezember 2012 in der Regel nicht länger als drei Monate dauern.

Welche Möglichkeiten bestehen, wenn der Antrag abgelehnt wird?

Wenn die Behörde feststellt, dass wesentliche Unterschiede in der Ausbildung bestehen, gibt es die Möglichkeit, sich entsprechend weiterzubilden. Im Bereich der reglementierten Berufe ist die Teilnahme an einer Anpassungsmaßnahme (Lehrgang oder Prüfung) bei festgestellten wesentlichen Unterschieden verpflichtend. Wer nicht erfolgreich an einer Maßnahme teilgenommen hat, kann den Beruf in Deutschland nicht ausüben. Lehrgänge und Prüfungen werden durch die Länder angeboten. Die Kosten für die Anpassungsmaßnahme sind von den Antragstellenden in der Regel selbst zu tragen. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann finanzielle Unterstützung durch die Agenturen für Arbeit oder die Träger der Grundsicherung im Rahmen der Förderung der beruflichen Weiterbildung geleistet werden.

Für die nicht‐reglementierten Berufe (Ausbildungsberufe) besteht keine Verpflichtung zur Weiterqualifizierung. Antragstellende können in diesen Berufen auch ohne die Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit arbeiten. Im Bescheid werden die vorhandenen Qualifikationen dokumentiert und die wesentlichen Unterschiede zum vergleichbaren Beruf in Deutschland erläutert. Dies hilft den Antragstellenenden und Unternehmen. Die Antragstellenden können auf dieser Grundlage entsprechende Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen wahrnehmen, um ihre Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt zu verbessern und gegebenenfalls die volle Gleichwertigkeit ihrer beruflichen Qualifikationen zu erreichen. Die Weiterbildung kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen im Rahmen der Förderung der beruflichen Weiterbildung durch die Agenturen für Arbeit oder die Träger der Grundsicherung gefördert werden.

Was kann alles durch das Gesetz anerkannt werden?

Im sogenannten Anerkennungsverfahren können Berufsabschlüsse, die im Ausland erworben wurden, mit einem deutschen Beruf verglichen werden.

Wichtig ist die Anerkennung besonders für Abschlüsse in reglementierten Berufen, für die der Zugang staatlich geregelt ist. Hierzu gehören z.B. Ärztinnen und Ärzte, die Kranken- und Altenpflegeberufe, Apotheker und Apothekerinnen, Rechtsanwältinnen und Rechtsanwälte sowie Handwerksmeisterinnen und ‐meister. Bei diesen Berufen wird geprüft, ob der ausländische Berufsabschluss mit der inländischen Berufsausbildung gleichwertig ist. Wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, sind Ausgleichsmaßnahmen, d.h. Prüfungen oder Lehrgänge, vorgesehen, sonst darf die Antragstellerin / der Antragsteller den Beruf in Deutschland nicht ausüben.

Es gibt aber auch reglementierte Berufe, die in der Zuständigkeit der einzelnen Bundesländer geregelt sind. Hierzu gehören z.B. Erzieher und Erzieherinnen, Lehrkräfte und die Architekten‐und Ingenieursberufe. In den Ländern werden gesetzliche Regelungen vorbereitet, damit auch diese Berufe anerkannt werden können.

Abschlüsse in nicht‐reglementierten Berufen, also insbesondere in den Ausbildungsberufen des dualen Systems, können ebenfalls anerkannt werden. Auch bei diesen Berufen wird geprüft, ob der ausländische Berufsabschluss gleichwertig ist. Falls keine Gleichwertigkeit vorliegt, wird eine Bescheinigung ausgestellt, die die vorhandenen Qualifikationen und auch die im Vergleich mit der deutschen Referenzausbildung festgestellten Lücken dokumentiert. Dies erleichtert potenziellen Arbeitgebern die Bewertung von Bewerbern mit Auslandsqualifikationen. Zudem haben die Betroffenen so die Möglichkeit, an entsprechenden Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen teilzunehmen und dann gegebenenfalls einen neuen Antrag auf Anerkennung zu stellen.

Wo kann ich mich weiter informieren?

Ob Ihr Beruf in Deutschland reglementiert ist, durch welche Gesetze er geregelt wird und an welche Stelle Sie sich zur Prüfung Ihrer Qualifikationen wenden müssen, erfahren Sie im Internet unter www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de. Dort finden Sie auch eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Region.

Telefonisch erhalten Sie erste Informationen bei der Hotline zur Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen im Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge unter der Telefonnummer: +49 30-1815-1111.

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien