BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - FAQ: "Ankommen-App"

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Putting people first: providing security, creating opportunities, embracing change

FAQ: "Ankommen-App"

Date 6 March 2017

What topics and contents will I find in the app?

The app contains information on the asylum procedure, on access to the labour market, and on "Living in Germany". The chapter entitled "Living in Germany" takes up topics which are important for everyday life, such as Who can I turn to for advice? When does my child have to go to school? What are the road traffic rules? Several texts within this chapter deal with the political and legal system in Germany, freedom of religion or equal rights for men and women. The goal is to make available the most important information that is needed in order to integrate asylum-seekers quickly. The app also has an integrated, free, multimedia language course which provides practical everyday support when taking the first steps in German. Users particularly benefit from the combination of information and the language course. Personal statements from people who have immigrated to Germany provide information about life here in a personal, informal way.

Since when has the Arrival app been available?

The app was developed in the autumn of 2015, and has been available free of charge in the app stores for Android and iOS since the beginning of January 2016.

Who is the app’s target group?

The app targets displaced persons who have only been in Germany for a few weeks. "Ankommen" ("Arrival") is a guide to quickly become comprehensively orientated during this period, and is tailored towards the immediate needs of people who only recently arrived in Germany.

Who was involved in developing the app?

The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees developed the "Ankommen" ("Arrival") app together with the Federal Employment Agency (BA), the Bayerischer Rundfunk broadcasting corporation (BR) and the Goethe-Institut.

Were there any displaced persons involved in developing the app?

During the planning period, this target group was surveyed in reception facilities on a sample basis, amongst other things on the information which they would like to see in an app and on the questions which they have regarding the asylum procedure and on the topic of work. This survey as well as the experience which we have had in the field of integration formed the basis for drawing up the content. When drafting the texts, it was attempted to ensure that the wording was simple and not patronising in order to reach people and not alienate them.

In which languages does the app exist?

"Ankommen" ("Arrival") is available in Arabic, English, Farsi, French and German.

Do I have to be online in order to use the app?

The app can also be used offline, meaning that no Internet connection is needed once it has been downloaded.

With which operating systems can the app be used?

There are versions for Android and iOS mobiles.

What does it cost to download the app?

The app is free of charge.

Why was it decided to create an app for this project?

Asylum-seekers in reception facilities were surveyed in the planning period, and it emerged here that a majority of asylum-seekers have smartphones to find their way during their flight and remain in touch with their families in their home countries.

How do displaced persons learn about the app?

The app is publicised everywhere asylum-seekers are found: In reception facilities, the BAMF's branch offices, arrival centres, employment agencies and job centres and immigration authorities, as well as via integration course organisers and in migration advice centres.

What has the response to the app been?

  • The echo among displaced persons, volunteers, staff in the authorities and the press has been highly positive on the whole.
  • The app has already been downloaded about 210,000 times.
  • The Stiftung Warentest consumer organisation tested apps for learning German in April, and only rated two apps out of ten as "good". One of these was the app "Ankommen" ("Arrival").
  • The app already received several awards: the LeadAward in Gold in the category Online as startup of the year 2016, the "WSA-Germany 2016"-Award and a nomination for the UN-World Summit Award MOBIL in the category "Government and Citizen Engangement", and received the "Best m-Government Service Award 2017" of the World Government Summit in Dubai in the category "Social Affairs".
  • The app has also provoked considerable interest among other asylum authorities in the EU which do not yet have an app themselves. The approach was particularly praised to combine several central topical areas (language, asylum procedure, orientation in everyday life, the labour market), and hence to avoid fragmenting the sources of information.

What is special about the app compared to other apps for displaced persons?

  • The combination of information and the language course is particularly beneficial to users.
  • The contents of the app are valid nationwide, local information and services being deliberately left out.
  • Playful elements (amongst other things it is possible to collect points for reading texts or doing exercises) provide a motivation to use the app frequently.
  • The app can also be used offline, meaning that no Internet connection is needed once it has been downloaded.
  • The app was designed not to take up much memory space.

Is the app to be expanded?

The app is being continuously developed. The section on the asylum procedure has been updated, and more chapters have been added to the language course provided by the Goethe-Institut. New chapters will be added. There is also a website with the same content at www.ankommenapp.de.

Additional Information

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Service Center

From Monday to Friday
09:00 a.m. to 03:00 p.m.

Telephone: +49 911 943-0
to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - FAQ: "Ankommen-App"

Navigation und Service

FAQ: "Ankommen-App"

Datum 06.03.2017

Welche Themen und Inhalte finde ich in der App?

Die App enthält Informationen zum Asylverfahren, zum Arbeitsmarktzugang und zum "Leben in Deutschland". Das Kapitel "Leben in Deutschland" greift lebensnahe Themen auf: Wer kann mich beraten? Wann muss mein Kind in die Schule? Wie verhalte ich mich im Straßenverkehr? Mehrere Texte dieses Kapitels behandeln das politische und rechtliche System in Deutschland, die Religionsfreiheit oder die Gleichberechtigung von Mann und Frau. Ziel ist es, die wichtigsten Informationen zur raschen Integration der Asylsuchenden zur Verfügung zu stellen. In die App ist zudem ein kostenloser, multimedialer Sprachkurs integriert, der eine alltagsnahe Unterstützung für die ersten Schritte auf Deutsch bietet. Die Verbindung von Informationen und Sprachkurs stellt einen besonderen Mehrwert für die User dar. Persönliche Aussagen von Menschen, die nach Deutschland zugewandert sind, vermitteln auf eine persönliche und informelle Art Informationen über das Leben hier.

Seit wann gibt es die Ankommen-App?

Die App wurde im Herbst 2015 entwickelt und ist seit Anfang Januar 2016 kostenfrei in den App-Stores für Android und iOS erhältlich.

Wer ist die Zielgruppe der App?

Die App richtet sich an geflüchtete Menschen, die erst seit wenigen Wochen in Deutschland sind. "Ankommen" ist ein Wegbegleiter zur schnellen und umfassenden Orientierung während dieser Zeit und auf die unmittelbaren Lebensbedürfnisse neu in Deutschland ankommender Menschen zugeschnitten.

Wer war an der Entwicklung der App beteiligt?

Das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge hat gemeinsam mit der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA), dem Bayerischen Rundfunk (BR) und dem Goethe-Institut die App "Ankommen" entwickelt.

Waren auch Geflüchtete in der Entwicklung der App involviert?

Diese Zielgruppe wurde im Vorfeld stichprobenartig in Aufnahmeeinrichtungen befragt, u.a. zu den Informationen, die sie sich in einer App wünschen und zu den Fragen, die sie zum Asylverfahren und zum Thema Arbeit haben. Diese Fragestellung sowie unsere Erfahrungen im Integrationsbereich bildeten die Grundlage für die Erstellung der Inhalte. Bei der Erstellung der Texte wurde darauf geachtet, einfach und auf Augenhöhe zu formulieren, um die Menschen zu erreichen und nicht vor den Kopf zu stoßen.

In welchen Sprachen gibt es die App?

"Ankommen" steht in den Sprachen Arabisch, Englisch, Farsi, Französisch und Deutsch zur Verfügung.

Muss ich online sein, um die App zu nutzen?

Die App ist auch "offline" nutzbar, d.h. wenn sie einmal heruntergeladen wurde, braucht man keinen Internetzugang mehr.

Mit welchen Betriebssystemen kann die App genutzt werden?

Es gibt Versionen für Android- und iOS-Handys.

Was kostet der Download der App?

Die App ist kostenlos.

Weshalb wurde für dieses Projekt das Medium App gewählt?

Geflüchtete wurden im Vorfeld in Aufnahmeeinrichtungen befragt. Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass ein Großteil von ihnen Smartphones hat, um sich während der Flucht zu orientieren und mit ihren Familien im Herkunftsland in Kontakt zu bleiben.

Wie erfahren Geflüchtete von der App?

Die App wird überall dort, wo sich Geflüchtete zunächst aufhalten, beworben: In Aufnahmeeinrichtungen, BAMF-Außenstellen, Ankunftszentren, Arbeitsagenturen und Jobcentern, Ausländerbehörden sowie bei Integrationskursträgern und in Migrationsberatungsstellen.

Wie ist die Resonanz auf die App?

  • Die Resonanz bei Geflüchteten, Ehrenamtlichen, Mitarbeitenden der Behörden und der Presse war überwiegend sehr positiv.
  • Die App wurde bereits knapp 210.000 Mal heruntergeladen.
  • Die Stiftung Warentest hat im April Apps zum Deutschlernen getestet und nur zwei von zehn Apps für "gut" befunden, darunter "Ankommen".
  • Die App erhielt bereits mehrere Auszeichnungen: die Gold-Medaille des "LeadAwards" 2016 als Startup des Jahres in der Kategorie Online, den "WSA-Germany 2016"-Award und eine Nominierung für den UN-World Summit Award MOBILE ("WSA-Mobile") sowie den "Best m-Government Service Award 2017" in der Kategorie "Social Affairs" von der World Government Summit in Dubai.
  • Auch bei anderen EU-Asylbehörden ist die App auf großes Interesse gestoßen, die selbst noch über keine App verfügen. Insbesondere wurde der Ansatz gelobt, mehrere zentrale Themenfelder (Sprache, Asylverfahren, Orientierung im Alltag, Arbeitsmarkt) zu verbinden und damit eine Zersplitterung der Informationsquellen zu vermeiden.

Was ist das Besondere an der App, im Vergleich zu anderen Apps für Geflüchtete?

  • Die Verbindung von Informationen und Sprachkurs stellt einen besonderen Mehrwert für den User dar.
  • Die Inhalte der App sind bundesweit gültig, auf lokale Informationen und Angebote wurde bewusst verzichtet.
  • Spielerische Elemente (u.a. können Punkte gesammelt werden, wenn Texte gelesen oder Übungen gemacht werden) motivieren die App häufig zu nutzen.
  • Die App ist auch "offline" nutzbar, d.h. wenn sie einmal heruntergeladen wurde, braucht man keinen Internetzugang mehr.
  • Die App wurde so konzipiert, dass sie nicht viel Speicherplatz benötigt.

Wird die App noch erweitert?

Die App wird laufend weiterentwickelt. Der Teil zum Asylverfahren wurde aktualisiert, der Sprachkurs des Goethe-Instituts um weitere Kapitel ergänzt. Es kommen neue Kapitel hinzu. Es steht auch eine inhaltsgleiche Website zur Verfügung unter www.ankommenapp.de.

Zusatzinformationen

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen an uns? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns!

Service Center

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 15 Uhr

Telefon: +49 911 943-0
zum Kontaktformular

Ansprechpartner im BAMF

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien