BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focusing on people - offering security. Creating opportunities. Living change.

FAQ: Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers

The proof of arrival (AKN) documents that asylum-seekers have been registered in Germany. At the same time, it entitles its holders to obtain state benefits (accommodation, including medical care, food).

The proof of arrival contains both an identification number as well as the most important personal data and information on the responsible reception facility. Asylum-seekers are identified at the first point of contact, by the police at the border or by staff of the Land authorities in reception facilities and staff of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees at reception/registration centres.

The data are made available to the authorities involved in the asylum procedure via a nationwide data system and immediately compared with the data from the responsible security authorities.

The introduction of the proof of arrival for asylum-seekers provides a new nationwide format, also recording security-related characteristics, for the “Asylum-seeker registration certificate” (BüMA), which previously was formless and the design of which differed from one Federal Land to another.


The proof of arrival is neither an identity card nor a replacement identity card.


Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers – inside:

Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers – inside:1 Personal information on the asylum-seeker; 2 Number of the proof of arrival; 3 Photograph and signature of the asylum-seeker; 4 Information on the issuing authority; 5 Notes on information; 6 Validity date; 7 Extension date; 8 Responsible reception facility; 9 Seal of the authority Source: © BAMF

Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers – outside:

Proof of arrival for asylum-seekers – outside 10 Information on children travelling with the holder; 11 Number in the Central Register of Foreigners (AZR); 12 Type of document; 13 The barcode allows personal data and the Central Register of Foreigners number to be read by machine in the participating authorities. Source: © BAMF

Date 6 May 2016

Who receives a proof of arrival?

A proof of arrival is issued in Germany as a rule to all asylum-seekers once they have been registered by the BAMF branch office or reception facility responsible for them.
Minor-age children and juveniles also receive their own proof of arrival, as well as being entered in their parents’ cards. This prevents the family being separated when they are accommodated.

Social law provides that unaccompanied minors are taken into the care of the youth welfare office. In this procedure, they are registered by the immigration authority without issuing a proof of arrival.

Who registers asylum-seekers?

Asylum-seekers are registered on first contact by the

  • Federal or Länder Police
  • staff of the BAMF at reception/registration centres
  • staff of the Länder in reception facilities, in immigration authorities and at reception/registration centres.

It is however the reception facility to which the individual has been distributed (this is frequently not the agency first registering them) which is responsible for issuing the proof of arrival, unless the BAMF regional office which is assigned to this reception facility carries out fingerprinting and photography of the person or processes their personal data.

How does the proof of arrival benefit asylum-seekers?

The proof of arrival enables the asylum-seeker to use the identity that has been recorded to obtain state benefits such as accommodation, food and medical care. It also makes regional assignment (reception facility/immigration authority/youth welfare office) and a territorial restriction simple.

The proof of arrival is used as visible proof of registration, and makes it easy to verify the concurrence between the holder of the proof of arrival and the data stored in the nationwide data system.

The proof of arrival is neither an identity card nor a replacement identity card.

How does the proof of arrival benefit the authorities involved?

The proof of arrival certifies that the asylum-seeker has registered in Germany. The proof of arrival and the information that is recorded electronically in the nationwide data system facilitates the unambiguous identification of the asylum-seeker. This prevents double registrations.


In accordance with the Act to Improve the Exchange of Data (Datenaustausch­verbesserungsgesetz – DAVG), participating authorities such as the immigration and registration authorities or the Federal Employment Agency receive fast access to the data which are relevant for them (personal data, knowledge of languages, etc.). This for instance facilitates better planning of accommodation for asylum-seekers in the Federal Länder, the asylum procedure at the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees and labour market integration measures.

What data are collected in the proof of arrival?

The following are visibly printed onto the proof of arrival:

  • surname and forenames
  • name at birth
  • photograph
  • date of birth
  • place of birth
  • abbreviation of the nationality
  • gender
  • height and colour of eyes
  • responsible reception facility
  • serial number of the certificate (number of the proof of arrival)
  • issuing authority
  • date of issue
  • signature of the holder
  • validity date
  • extension note
  • the reference number of the registration authority (number at the Central Register of Foreigners)
  • note bearing the surname and forenames of accompanying minor-age children
  • note stating that the information is based on the holder’s own submission
  • note stating that this certificate does not constitute a passport or identity card
  • machine-readable zone
  • barcode

The nationwide data system stores additional data supplementing the data that are also printed on the proof of arrival, such as fingerprint data, data on health and data that are needed in connection with integration (such as on past employment and training, on participation in integration activities, knowledge of languages).

How long is the proof of arrival valid?

The proof of arrival can be issued with an initial validity of six months at most. It can be extended if necessary for up to another three months by the responsible reception facility or immigration authority. The maximum possible period of validity is therefore nine months.

As soon as the individual files an asylum application with the Federal Office as a result of which they receive a "permission to reside" certificate (Aufenthaltsgestattung), the proof of arrival becomes invalid and is withdrawn.

Which authority can extend the validity of the proof of arrival?

If accommodation is provided in a reception facility, the latter is responsible for extending the proof of arrival. If accommodation is provided elsewhere, the responsible immigration authority can extend the validity of the proof of arrival.

Is the proof of arrival sufficient in order to open a bank account?

The proof of arrival is neither an identity card nor a replacement identity card. Banks can accept the proof of arrival as an identification document in order to open a payment transaction account.

To whom can changes of address be notified, and how?

The reception facility to which the asylum-seeker has been distributed, and the regional office of the Federal Office to which this reception facility is allocated, are responsible for issuing a certificate, as well as for address changes and extensions.

What happens if the proof of arrival is lost?

The holder of the proof of arrival is obliged to report its loss to the police and to the responsible reception facility. The holder is identified using his/her biometric data and a replacement proof of arrival is issued. The original validity date is retained. If the original proof of arrival is found, it must be presented to the responsible authorities.

Are asylum-seekers obliged to have a proof of arrival?

Yes. Newly-arrived asylum-seekers are obliged to be registered and to have a proof of arrival issued.

Can asylum-seekers with a proof of arrival attend an integration course?

Asylum-seekers are obliged to be registered and to have a proof of arrival issued. Asylum-seekers from Iran, Iraq, Syria and Eritrea who have a proof of arrival can be admitted to attend an integration course if places are available on the course.

Additional Information

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Service Center

From Monday to Friday
09:00 a.m. to 03:00 p.m.

Telephone: +49 911 943-0
to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

Wichtige Mitteilung

Warning!

There have been several occasions very recently in which people have pretended to be employees of the Federal Office and asked for an interview at which they questioned asylum applicants intensively. This took place in some cases on the pretext that a second hearing was allegedly needed. Important: The Federal Office does not conduct home visits! These individuals do not work for the Federal Office. The Federal Office has therefore filed criminal charges. If something similar happens to you, or if you observe anything of this nature as a carer, please report this to your local police station.Interviewers from reputable survey institutes who are currently conducting interviews as part of research projects in which data are collected on a voluntary basis clearly state who they are working for. They also give the name of the survey institute and prove this by showing the appropriate documentation. This means that you can make enquiries should you have any doubts.

Fraud Phone Calls

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - FAQ: Ankunftsnachweis für Asylsuchende

Navigation und Service

FAQ: Ankunftsnachweis für Asylsuchende

Der Ankunftsnachweis (AKN) bescheinigt die Registrierung der Asylsuchenden in Deutschland. Er berechtigt die Inhaber gleichzeitig dazu, Leistungen (Unterbringung, Versorgung, Gesundheit) zu beziehen.

Der Ankunftsnachweis enthält neben einer Identifikationsnummer die wichtigsten Daten zur Person und Angaben über die zuständige Aufnahmeeinrichtung. Die Identitätserfassung der Asylsuchenden erfolgt am ersten Kontaktpunkt, durch Polizei an der Grenze oder durch Mitarbeitende der Landesbehörden in Aufnahmeeinrichtungen und Mitarbeitende des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge in Ankunfts-/Registrierzentren.

Die Daten werden über ein Kerndatensystem den am Asylverfahren beteiligten Behörden zur Verfügung gestellt und sofort mit den Daten der zuständigen Sicherheitsbehörden abgeglichen.

Mit der Einführung des Ankunftsnachweises für Asylsuchende erhält die bisher formlose und von Bundesland zu Bundesland unterschiedlich ausgestaltete "Bescheinigung über die Meldung als Asylsuchender" (BüMA) eine neue bundeseinheitliche Ausgestaltung, die zudem Sicherheitsmerkmale enthält.


Der Ankunftsnachweis ist weder Ausweis noch Ausweisersatz.

Ankunftsnachweis für Asylsuchende - Innenseite:

Innenseite des Ankunftsnachweises für Asylsuchende1 Angaben des Asylsuchenden; 2 Nummer des Ankunftsnachweises; 3 Lichtbild und Unterschrift des Asylsuchenden; 4 Angaben zum Aussteller; 5 Hinweise zu Angaben; 6 Gültigkeitsdatum; 7 Verlängerungsdatum; 8 Zuständige Aufnahmeeinrichtung; 9 Siegel der Behörde Quelle: © BAMF

Ankunftsnachweis für Asylsuchende - Außenseite:

Außenseite des Ankunftsnachweises für Asylsuchende10 Angaben zu mitreisenden Kindern; 11 Nummer des Ausländerzent-ralregisters (AZR); 12 Dokumentenbezeichnung; 13 Über den QR-Code sind personenbezogene Daten sowie die AZR-Nummer für beteiligte Behörden maschinell auslesbar Quelle: © BAMF

Datum 28.04.2016

Welche Personen erhalten einen Ankunftsnachweis?

Den Ankunftsnachweis erhalten in Deutschland in der Regel alle Asylsuchenden im Anschluss an die Registrierung durch die zuständige BAMF-Außenstelle oder Aufnahmeeinrichtung.
Auch minderjährige Kinder und Jugendliche erhalten einen eigenen Ankunftsnachweis und werden zudem auf dem Ausweis der Eltern eingetragen. Dies verhindert eine Trennung der Familie bei der Unterbringung.

Für Unbegleitete Minderjährige sieht das Sozialgesetz eine Inobhutnahme durch das Jugendamt vor. Im Zusammenhang mit diesem Verfahren erfolgt eine Registrierung durch die Ausländerbehörde ohne Ausstellung eines Ankunftsnachweises.

Wer registriert Asylsuchende?

Asylsuchende werden beim ersten Kontakt registriert durch:

  • Bundes- oder Landespolizei
  • Mitarbeiter des BAMF in Außenstellen und Ankunfts-/Registrierzentren
  • Mitarbeiter der Länder in Aufnahmeeinrichtungen, Ausländerbehörden und Ankunfts-/Registrierzentren

Zuständig für die Ausstellung des Ankunftsnachweises ist jedoch die Aufnahmeeinrichtung, auf die die Person verteilt worden ist (dies ist häufig nicht die erstregistrierende Stelle), sofern nicht die dieser Aufnahmeeinrichtung zugeordnete Außenstelle des BAMF eine erkennungsdienstliche Behandlung der Person oder die Verarbeitung ihrer personenbezogenen Daten vornimmt.

Wozu dient der Ankunftsnachweis den Asylsuchenden?

Der Ankunftsnachweis ermöglicht den Asylsuchenden mittels der hinterlegten Identität den Zugang zu staatlichen Leistungen wie Unterbringung, Verpflegung sowie medizinischer Versorgung. Auch ist eine einfache regionale Zuordnung (Aufnahmeeinrichtung/Ausländerbehörde/Jugendamt) und örtliche Beschränkung möglich.

Der Ankunftsnachweis dient als sichtbarer Nachweis der Registrierung und ermöglicht die einfache Prüfung der Übereinstimmung zwischen Ankunftsnachweis-Inhaber sowie den Daten im Kerndatensystem.

Der Ankunftsnachweis ist weder Ausweis noch Ausweisersatz.

Wozu dient der Ankunftsnachweis den beteiligten Behörden?

Der Ankunftsnachweis bescheinigt die Registrierung des Asylsuchenden in Deutschland. Durch den Ankunftsnachweis und die im Kerndatensystem elektronisch hinterlegten Informationen ist eine eindeutige Identifikation des Asylsuchenden möglich, so werden doppelte Registrierungen vermieden.

Beteiligte Behörden wie z.B. Ausländer- und Meldebehörden oder die Bundesagentur für Arbeit erhalten gemäß dem Datenaustauschverbesserungsgesetztes (DAVG) schnellen Zugang zu den für sie relevanten Daten (Personendaten, Sprachkenntnisse etc.). Dies ermöglicht z. B. eine bessere Planung der Unterbringung der Asylsuchenden in den Bundesländern, der Asylverfahren beim Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge und von Maßnahmen zur Arbeitsmarktintegration.

Welche Daten werden durch den Ankunftsnachweis erfasst?

Sichtbar auf den Ankunftsnachweis werden gedruckt:

  • Name und Vornamen
  • Geburtsname
  • Lichtbild
  • Geburtsdatum
  • Geburtsort
  • Abkürzung der Staatsangehörigkeit
  • Geschlecht
  • Größe und Augenfarbe
  • zuständige Aufnahmeeinrichtung
  • Seriennummer der Bescheinigung (Ankunftsnachweisnummer)
  • ausstellende Behörde
  • Ausstellungsdatum
  • Unterschrift des Inhabers
  • Gültigkeitsdatum
  • Verlängerungsvermerk
  • das Geschäftszeichen der Registerbehörde (Ausländerzentralregisternummer)
  • Vermerk mit den Namen und Vornamen der begleitenden minderjährigen Kinder
  • Vermerk, dass die Angaben auf den eigenen Angaben des Inhabers beruhen
  • Vermerk, dass der Inhaber mit dieser Bescheinigung nicht der Pass- und Ausweispflicht genügt
  • maschinenlesbare Zone
  • Barcode

Im Kerndatensystem werden ergänzend zu den Daten, die auch auf dem Ankunftsnachweis aufgebracht sind, weitere Daten gespeichert wie z. B. Fingerabdruckdaten, Gesundheitsdaten und Daten die im Zusammenhang mit der Integration benötigt werden (bspw. zum beruflichen und Ausbildungshintergrund, zur Teilnahme an Integrationsmaßnahmen, Sprachkenntnisse).

Wie lange ist der Ankunftsnachweis gültig?

Der Ankunftsnachweis kann zunächst mit einer Gültigkeit von längstens sechs Monaten ausgestellt werden. Er kann bei Bedarf bis zu weiteren drei Monaten von der zuständigen Aufnahmeeinrichtung oder Ausländerbehörde verlängert werden. Die maximal mögliche Geltungsdauer beträgt damit neun Monate.

Sobald die Person einen Asylantrag beim Bundesamt stellt und in Folge dessen eine Bescheinigung über die Aufenthaltsgestattung erhält, ist der Ankunftsnachweis ungültig und wird eingezogen.

Welche Behörde kann die Gültigkeit des Ankunftsnachweises verlängern?

Bei einer Unterbringung in einer Aufnahmeeinrichtung ist diese für die Verlängerung des Ankunftsnachweises zuständig. Bei einer anderweitigen Unterbringung kann die zuständige Ausländerbehörde die Gültigkeit des Ankunftsnachweises verlängern.

Genügt der Ankunftsnachweis, um ein Bankkonto zu eröffnen?

Der Ankunftsnachweis ist weder Ausweis noch Ausweisersatz. Banken können den Ankunftsnachweis als Identifikationspapier zur Eröffnung eines Zahlungskontos akzeptieren.

Wem und wie können Adressänderungen mitgeteilt werden?

Zuständig für die Ausstellung, Änderung der Anschrift und Verlängerung einer Bescheinigung ist die Aufnahmeeinrichtung, auf die der Asylsuchende verteilt worden ist, und die dieser Aufnahmeeinrichtung zugeordnete Außenstelle des Bundesamtes.

Was passiert bei Verlust des Ankunftsnachweises?

Der Inhaber des Ankunftsnachweises ist verpflichtet, den Verlust des AKN bei der Polizei und der zuständigen Aufnahmeeinrichtung anzuzeigen Der Inhaber wird anhand seiner biometrischen Daten identifiziert und ein Ersatz-Ankunftsnachweis ausgestellt. Das ursprüngliche Gültigkeitsdatum bleibt bestehen. Findet sich der Original-Ankunftsnachweis wieder, muss dieser den zuständigen Behörden vorgelegt werden.

Sind Asylsuchende verpflichtet, einen Ankunftsnachweis zu haben?

Ja. Neu ankommende Asylsuchende sind verpflichtet, sich registrieren und einen Ankunftsnachweis ausstellen zu lassen.

Können Asylsuchende mit einem Ankunftsnachweis einen Integrationskurs besuchen?

Asylsuchende sind verpflichtet, sich registrieren und einen Ankunftsnachweis ausstellen zu lassen. Asylsuchende aus Iran, Irak, Syrien und Eritrea, die einen Ankunftsnachweis haben, können zum Integrationskurs zugelassen werden, wenn Kursplätze verfügbar sind.

Zusatzinformationen

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen an uns? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns!

Service Center

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 15 Uhr

Telefon: +49 911 943-0
zum Kontaktformular

Ansprechpartner im BAMF

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien