BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Access to the labour market for refugees

Navigation and service

Access to the labour market for refugees

The opportunities for refugees to gain access to the labour market, and the conditions under which access is granted, fundamentally depend on their residence status at any one time. The various different residence titles are listed below:

Residence status 1: persons with a residence permit (Aufenthaltserlaubnis)

The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) decides in the asylum proceedings on four different types of protection, namely the right of asylum, refugee protection, subsidiary protection and prohibition of deportation. Depending on the type of protection, these persons are granted a residence permit for a term of one to three years with the possibility of an extension or transformation into permanent residence.

Recognised asylum applicants who have received a positive notice from the Federal Office may as a matter of principle work on an employed basis without restrictions, and may also engage in self-employment.

It will be noted on the residence permit as well as on any additional sheet that has been issued whether such permission has been granted.

Residence status 2: persons with permission to reside (Aufenthaltsgestattung)

Musterabbildung einer AufenthaltsgestattungSource: BAMF

The Federal Office grants permission to reside to asylum applicants who are still in the asylum proceedings. This entitles them to live in Germany until the asylum proceedings have been completed, that is until the decision has been taken on the asylum application, and to work subject to specific conditions.

Residence status 3: persons with temporary suspension of deportation status (Duldung)

Persons who are not or are no longer in the asylum proceedings, or whose applications have been turned down but whose deportation has been suspended, receive from the immigration authority a "certificate of suspension of deportation", the so-called Duldung.

Persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status are subject to special conditions for access to the labour market. These are listed below.

What conditions apply to access to the labour market for persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status?

Before persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status can take up work, they must obtain permission to engage in work from their immigration authority. The immigration authority decides in the respective individual case whether permission to engage in work is granted.

The authorisation of the local Employment Agency is also necessary as a matter of principle. The immigration authority will obtain the authorisation of the Employment Agency, and the individual does not need to obtain such authorisation themselves.

Once a person has lived in Germany for four years, the authorisation of the Employment Agency is no longer required as a rule.

Specific groups of individuals may however not engage in employment as a matter of principle.

Persons with permission to reside who are obliged to live in a reception facility may not engage in employment as a matter of principle. The obligation to live in a reception facility (AE-Wohnverpflichtung) applies for six weeks, and can be extended to a maximum of six months.

Persons from safe countries of origin, such as the Member States of the European Union, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ghana, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Senegal and Serbia, who filed their asylum applications after 31 August 2015 are obliged to live in reception facilities during the entire asylum procedure (and if their asylum application is turned down, in certain cases until leaving the country), and are therefore not permitted to engage in employment.

Persons who have a certificate of suspension of deportation may not engage in employment if they entered the country in order to obtain benefits under the Asylum-Seekers’ Benefits Act (Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz) if they prevent residence-terminating measures by for instance providing misleading information with regard to their identity or nationality, or if they come from a safe country of origin and their asylum application was filed after 31 August 2015 and has been turned down.

From what time do persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status receive authorisation to take up employment?

Persons with permission to reside can be given permission to take up employment after three months.

The three-month period starts on the day on which an asylum request is made to the border authority, an immigration authority or the police.

With regard to persons who entered Germany from a safe third country without a necessary residence title, such as a visa, the period however does not begin until an asylum application has been formally lodged with the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees.

With regard to persons who have temporary suspension of deportation status, the waiting period commences when this document is issued, any previous residence being credited towards this time.

Detailed information is provided by the competent immigration authorities.

What are the criteria underlying the authorisation of the Employment Agency?

The authorisation of the Employment Agency to take up work is also known as a priority review. Three criteria are examined here: the impact of the employment on the labour market; whether priority applicants are available, and the concrete working conditions.

The priority review therefore serves to clarify that occupying a post with a foreign applicant does not have any adverse impact on the labour market and that no priority employees (German nationals, citizens of a Member State of the EU or of the EEA or other priority foreign workers) are available for the vacant post. The determination that occupying vacant posts with foreign workers is justifiable in terms of labour market and integration policy can also be made by the Federal Employment Agency globally for individual professional groups or industries. These can be found on the "positive list" at www.arbeitsagentur.de/positivliste.

The separate review of the working conditions is based on the specific job, and particularly verifies the earnings and the hours worked. This guarantees that persons with permission to reside or who have temporary suspension of deportation status benefit from the same conditions on the labour market as persons with an unrestricted work permit.

The first two criteria of the priority review cease to apply once a person has lived in Germany for 15 months, and only the comparability of the working conditions is reviewed until four years of residence have been completed, at which time employment becomes completely exempt from authorisation.

Are there exceptions when the authorisation of the Employment Agency is not necessary?

Yes. There are certain types of employment not requiring the authorisation of the Employment Agency from the outset. These include vocational training, internships for further training purposes, voluntary service or highly-qualified persons taking up work. Whether the specific employment is exempt from authorisation is verified by the immigration authority in each individual case.

The three-month period still applies to employment that is not subject to authorisation for persons with permission to reside, and they may not take up employment during this period. The three-month period does not apply to persons with temporary suspension of deportation status.

May persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status work for a temping agency?

Yes. Persons who have permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status may as a matter of principle temp or take up employment as temporary workers. However, the same criteria apply here as to permanent employment in terms of whether or not prior authorisation or a priority review is necessary. Detailed information is provided by the local immigration authorities and the Employment Agency.

May persons with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status engage in self-employment?

Persons who have permission to reside may not engage in self-employment as a matter of principle.

By contrast, persons who have temporary suspension of deportation status may engage in self-employment if the immigration authority has explicitly authorised it.

How can employers recognise whether a person with permission to reside or temporary suspension of deportation status may work for them?

Persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status can identify themselves vis-à-vis potential employers with their respective documents. Both the permission to reside and temporary suspension of deportation document can be marked by the competent immigration authority with an endorsement providing information on permissible gainful employment. It is always recommended for the job-seeker to discuss the specific job offer with their competent immigration authority.

Does taking up employment or vocational training lead to a residence title being issued?

Persons with permission to reside do not receive a separate right of residence when they take up employment or training. The individual’s efforts towards becoming integrated are not taken into account when considering the asylum application with regard to granting protection under the law on asylum.

When it comes to persons with temporary suspension of deportation status, by contrast, the individual circumstances and efforts towards integration are taken into account when extending temporary suspension of deportation and issuing a residence title.

Do persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status lose their benefit entitlements under the Asylum-Seekers' Benefits Act (Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz) when they are in employment?

The earnings are deducted from the benefits granted under the Asylum-Seekers’ Benefits Act. The social welfare office with local responsibility will provide more information.

There may be an entitlement to a training scholarship when taking up vocational training, depending on the type of training and the personal circumstances. This leads to the cancellation of the entitlement under the Asylum-Seekers’ Benefits Act, but there may still be an entitlement to housing benefit. Further information on vocational training and promotion can be obtained from the careers advisors at the local Employment Agency, and further information on social security is available from the municipal agencies such as the housing benefit office or the training scholarships (BaföG) office.

Is an obligatory place of residence an obstacle to taking up work?

No. The geographical restriction on residence for persons with permission to reside, known as the residence obligation (Residenzpflicht), ceases to apply after three months, unless the obligation to live in a reception facility continues to apply. They are then free to choose where they live as a matter of principle.

The immigration authority may however order the geographical restriction once more at any time if the individual has come to the notice of the police or specific measures are required in order to return them to their country of origin. The same applies to persons who have temporary suspension of deportation status.

The residence obligation is replaced by a domicile requirement (Wohnsitzauflage).

Does the domicile requirement (Wohnsitzauflage) preclude taking up employment?

The "domicile requirement" (Wohnsitzauflage) means that individuals who draw social benefits may not freely choose where they live. As a matter of principle, displaced persons are obliged to have their habitual residence (domicile) in the Land to which they were allocated in order to apply for asylum during the first three years from recognition or receiving a residence permit. The domicile requirement can be rescinded if employment subject to mandatory social insurance is taken up amounting to at least 15 hours per week (section 12a subsection (5), sentence 1, No. 1 of the Residence Act [AufenthG]).

Do persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status receive support in looking for a job?

Yes. Persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status can report to their local Employment Agency as job-seekers. The Employment Agency is their contact and can provide them with advice.

What possibilities of language promotion exist for persons with permission to reside and for persons with temporary suspension of deportation status?

Persons with permission to reside, as well as persons with temporary suspension of deportation status who have good prospects to remain, have also had access to integration courses since November 2015.

All the necessary information, as well as the preconditions for access, can be found on the website of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees:

http://www.bamf.de/EN/Willkommen/DeutschLernen/IntegrationskurseAsylbewerber/ integrationskurseasylbewerber-node. html

A list of integration course venues as well as information on the many additional integration services or advice centres available close by can be found on the website belonging to the information system of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (Web-GIS): http://webgis.bamf.de/BAMF/control

Moreover, vocational language promotion (within the "ESF-BAMF" courses) can be provided to persons with permission to reside or whose deportation has been temporarily suspended. Attendance is contingent on access to the labour market and language knowledge at a minimum of level A1 (GER). The courses, which are organised and sponsored via the Federal Office on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS), combine German lessons, vocational skill-building and opportunities to serve internships.

The local right-to-remain networks are responsible for placing candidates in courses. More information is also provided by the Information Service of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees, language schools, refugee advice centres, as well as the local advisors of the Federal Office.

The Information Service of the Federal Office can be reached by telephone on +49 911 943 – 6390 from Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

The ESF hotline on vocational language courses can be reached by telephone on +49 221 92426 – 400 and at the following e-mail address: esf-verwaltung@bamf.bund.de. You can find more information on the ESF-BAMF courses here: http://www.bamf.de/EN/Willkommen/DeutschLernen/DeutschBeruf/deutschberuf-node.html

On what laws is access to the labour market for persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status based?

The legal basis underlying access to the labour market for persons with permission to reside and persons with temporary suspension of deportation status is set out in sections 47 and 59 to 61 of the Asylum Act (Asylgesetz – AsylG), sections 39, 40, 60a and 61 of the Residence Act (Aufenthaltsgesetz – AufenthG), as well as sections 26 and 32 of the Employment Ordinance (Beschäftigungsverordnung – BeschV).

Section 60a subs. 6 of the Residence Act (Aufenthaltgesetz – AufenthG) regulates when employment, which includes self-employment (section 2 subs. 2 of the Residence Act), may not be permitted; conversely, employment, and hence also self-employment, may otherwise be permitted.

The changes which were brought about by the Asylum Acceleration Act (Asylbeschleunigungsgesetz) of 23 October 2015 have now also opened up the integration courses to asylum applicants with good prospects to remain. These are regulated in section 44 of the Residence Act (AufenthG). Work-related promotion of German in accordance with section 45a of the Residence Act can also be provided, following on from the integration course.

What is the impact of the new amendments to the Integration Act (Integrationsgesetz) on the possibilities for displaced persons to gain access to the labour market?

Termination of in-company training
Displaced persons who have a training place receive secure residence status. Even if they drop out of training, their right of residence is now to be extended by six months on a one-off basis in order to enable displaced persons to seek new employment (section 60a subsection (2), sentence 4, of the Residence Act).

The labour market programme entitled "Refugee integration measures"
In addition to language courses, it is possible to work within the labour market programme entitled "Refugee integration measures". These activities entail compensation for additional expenditure, but do not constitute an employment relationship (section 5a of the Asylum-Seekers’ Benefits Act [AsylbLG] and section 421a of Book III of the Social Code [SGB III]).

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt für geflüchtete Menschen

Navigation und Service

FAQ: Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt für geflüchtete Menschen

Welche Zugangsmöglichkeiten und -bedingungen zum Arbeitsmarkt für geflüchtete Menschen bestehen, hängt maßgeblich von ihrem aktuellen Aufenthaltsstatus ab. Im Folgenden werden die verschiedenen Aufenthaltstitel aufgelistet:

Aufenthaltsstatus 1: Personen mit einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis

Das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) entscheidet im Asylverfahren über vier Schutzarten: Asylberechtigung, Flüchtlingsschutz, subsidiärer Schutz und Abschiebungsverbot. Je nach Schutzart erhalten diese Personen eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis mit einer Dauer von einem bis drei Jahren mit der Möglichkeit der Verlängerung bzw. dem Übergang in einen Daueraufenthalt.

Anerkannte Asylbewerberinnen und -bewerber, die vom Bundesamt einen positiven Bescheid erhalten haben, dürfen grundsätzlich uneingeschränkt als Beschäftigte arbeiten und auch einer selbstständigen Tätigkeit nachgehen.

Ist nur ein Abschiebungsverbot festgestellt worden, entscheidet die Ausländerbehörde im jeweiligen Einzelfall, ob eine Genehmigung zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung erteilt wird.

Ob eine Genehmigung erteilt wurde, steht auf der Aufenthaltserlaubnis und gegebenenfalls einem Zusatzblatt.

Aufenthaltsstatus 2: Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung

Musterabbildung einer AufenthaltsgestattungQuelle: BAMF

Das Bundesamt erteilt Asylbewerberinnen und Asylbewerbern, die sich noch im Asylverfahren befinden, eine Aufenthaltsgestattung. Diese berechtigt sie bis zum Abschluss des Asylverfahrens, das heißt bis zur Entscheidung über den Asylantrag, in Deutschland zu leben und unter bestimmten Bedingungen zu arbeiten.

Aufenthaltsstatus 3: Personen mit einer Duldung

Musterabbildung des Aufenthaltstitels Aussetzung der AbschiebungQuelle: BAMF

Personen, die sich nicht (mehr) im Asylverfahren befinden bzw. einen negativen Bescheid erhalten haben, aber bei denen die Abschiebung ausgesetzt wurde, erhalten von der Ausländerbehörde eine "Bescheinigung für die Aussetzung einer Abschiebung", die Duldung genannt wird.

Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen, haben bestimmte Zugangsbedingungen zum Arbeitsmarkt. Diese werden im Folgenden aufgezeigt.

Datum 27.01.2016

Welche Zugangsbedingungen zum Arbeitsmarkt bestehen für Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen?

Bevor Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung oder einer Duldung eine Arbeit aufnehmen können, müssen sie die Genehmigung zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung bei ihrer Ausländerbehörde einholen. Dabei entscheidet die Ausländerbehörde im jeweiligen Einzelfall, ob eine Genehmigung zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung erteilt wird.

Zudem ist grundsätzlich die Zustimmung der örtlichen Arbeitsagentur erforderlich. Die Ausländerbehörde holt die Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur ein, die Person muss sich nicht selbst um die Zustimmung bemühen.

Nach vierjährigem Aufenthalt im Bundesgebiet ist die Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur in der Regel nicht mehr erforderlich.

Jedoch dürfen bestimmte Personengruppen grundsätzlich keiner Beschäftigung nachgehen.

Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung, die verpflichtet sind in einer Aufnahmeeinrichtung zu wohnen, dürfen grundsätzlich keiner Beschäftigung nachgehen. Die sogenannte AE-Wohnverpflichtung gilt für sechs Wochen und kann auf höchstens sechs Monate verlängert werden.

Personen aus sicheren Herkunftsländern, wie etwa den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union, Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Ghana, Kosovo, Mazedonien, Montenegro, Senegal und Serbien, die ihren Asylantrag nach dem 31.08.2015 stellen, müssen während des gesamten Asylverfahrens (und im Falle der Ablehnung des Asylantrages in bestimmten Fällen bis zur Ausreise) in Aufnahmeeinrichtungen wohnen und dürfen somit keiner Beschäftigung nachgehen.

Personen, die eine Duldung besitzen, dürfen keiner Beschäftigung nachgehen, wenn sie eingereist sind, um Leistungen nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz zu erlangen, wenn sie aufenthaltsbeendende Maßnahmen verhindern, indem sie zum Beispiel über ihre Identität oder Staatsangehörigkeit täuschen oder wenn sie aus einem sicheren Herkunftsland stammen und ihr nach dem 31.08.2015 gestellter Asylantrag abgelehnt worden ist.

Ab wann erhalten Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen, eine Genehmigung zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung?

Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung besitzen, können nach drei Monaten die Genehmigung zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung erhalten.

Die Drei-Monats-Frist beginnt mit der Äußerung eines Asylgesuchs gegenüber der Grenzbehörde, einer Ausländerbehörde oder der Polizei.

Bei Personen, die ohne einen erforderlichen Aufenthaltstitel, wie zum Beispiel ein Visum, aus einem sicheren Drittstaat eingereist sind, beginnt die Frist jedoch erst mit der förmlichen Stellung eines Asylantrages beim Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge.

Bei Personen, die eine Duldung besitzen, beginnt die Wartefrist mit der Erteilung dieses Dokuments, wobei ein vorangegangener Aufenthalt angerechnet wird.

Detaillierte Informationen erteilen die zuständigen Ausländerbehörden.

Auf welche Kriterien stützt sich die Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur?

Die Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur zur Arbeitsaufnahme wird auch Vorrangprüfung genannt. Hier werden drei Kriterien geprüft: die Auswirkungen der Beschäftigung auf den Arbeitsmarkt; ob Bevorrechtigte zur Verfügung stehen und die konkreten Arbeitsbedingungen.

Im Rahmen der Vorrangprüfung wird also geklärt, dass eine Stellenbesetzung mit einem ausländischen Bewerber keine nachteiligen Auswirkungen auf den Arbeitsmarkt hat und keine bevorrechtigten Arbeitnehmer (Deutsche Staatsangehörige, Bürger eines EU- oder EWR-Staates oder sonstige bevorrechtigte ausländische Arbeitnehmer) für die zu besetzende Stelle zur Verfügung stehen. Die Feststellung, dass eine Besetzung offener Stellen mit ausländischen Arbeitnehmern arbeitsmarkt- und integrationspolitisch verantwortbar ist, kann von der Bundesagentur für Arbeit dabei auch pauschal für einzelne Berufsgruppen oder Wirtschaftszweige festgestellt werden. Diese sind in der sogenannten Positivliste zu finden (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte).

Die hiervon unabhängige Prüfung der Arbeitsbedingungen bezieht sich auf die konkrete Stelle und prüft insbesondere den Verdienst und die Arbeitszeiten. Damit werden für Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung oder einer Duldung gleichwertige Arbeitsbedingungen wie für Personen mit uneingeschränkter Arbeitserlaubnis gewährleistet.

Nach 15-monatigem Aufenthalt in Deutschland entfallen die ersten zwei Kriterien der Vorrangprüfung und es wird bis zur Vollendung des vierjährigen Aufenthalts mit dem die Beschäftigung gänzlich zustimmungsfrei wird nur noch die Vergleichbarkeit der Arbeitsbedingungen geprüft.

Gibt es Ausnahmen, in denen eine Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur nicht notwendig ist?

Ja. Es gibt bestimmte Beschäftigungsarten, für die von Grund auf keine Zustimmung der Arbeitsagentur erforderlich sind. Hierzu zählen eine Berufsausbildung, Praktika zu Weiterbildungszwecken, Freiwilligendienst oder die Arbeitsaufnahme von Hochqualifizierten. Ob die konkrete Beschäftigung zustimmungsfrei ist, prüft die Ausländerbehörde in jedem Einzelfall. 

Auch bei zustimmungsfreien Beschäftigungen gilt für Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung die Drei-Monats-Frist, in der sie keiner Beschäftigung nachgehen dürfen. Für Personen mit einem Duldungsstatus entfällt die Drei-Monats-Frist.

Dürfen Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen, bei einer Zeitarbeitsfirma arbeiten?

Ja. Zeitarbeit beziehungsweise eine Beschäftigung als Leiharbeitnehmer ist für Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen, grundsätzlich möglich. Dabei gelten jedoch die gleichen Kriterien, wie bei einer Festanstellung, ob eine vorherige Zustimmung oder Vorrangprüfung erforderlich ist oder nicht. Nähere Auskünfte erteilen die örtlichen Ausländerbehörden und die Agentur für Arbeit.

Dürfen Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder eine Duldung besitzen, einer selbstständigen Tätigkeit nachgehen?

Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung besitzen, dürfen grundsätzlich keiner selbstständigen Tätigkeit nachgehen.

Personen, die eine Duldung besitzen, dürfen hingegen eine selbständige Tätigkeit ausüben, wenn dies die Ausländerbehörde ausdrücklich erlaubt hat.

Wie erkennt eine Arbeitgeberin oder ein Arbeitgeber, ob eine Person mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung oder einer Duldung bei ihr oder ihm arbeiten darf?

Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung können sich mit ihren jeweiligen Dokumenten bei potenziellen Arbeitgebern ausweisen. Sowohl in die Aufenthaltsgestattung als auch in das Duldungsdokument kann von der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde eine sogenannte Nebenbestimmung eingetragen werden, die Auskunft zu den Möglichkeiten der Erwerbstätigkeit gibt. In jedem Fall empfiehlt es sich, dass die arbeitsuchende Person das konkrete Arbeitsplatzangebot mit ihrer zuständigen Ausländerbehörde bespricht.

Führt die Aufnahme einer Beschäftigung bzw. Berufsausbildung zur Erteilung eines Aufenthaltstitels?

Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung besitzen, erlangen mit der Aufnahme einer Arbeit oder einer Ausbildung kein gesondertes Aufenthaltsrecht. Die Integrationsleistung des Einzelnen spielt bei der Prüfung des Asylantrags im Hinblick auf die Gewährung von asylrechtlichem Schutz keine Rolle.

Bei Personen mit einer Duldung hingegen werden die individuellen Umstände und Integrationsleistungen bei der Verlängerung der Duldung bzw. bei der Erteilung eines Aufenthaltstitels berücksichtigt.

Verlieren Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder Duldung besitzen, ihren Anspruch auf Leistungen nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz, wenn sie einer Arbeit nachgehen?

Der Arbeitsverdienst wird auf die Leistungen, die sich nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz bemessen, angerechnet. Nähere Auskünfte erteilt das örtlich zuständige Sozialamt.

Bei Aufnahme einer Berufsausbildung kann je nach Ausbildungsart und persönlichen Umständen ein Anspruch auf Ausbildungsförderung bestehen. Dies führt zwar zum Wegfall des Anspruchs nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz, es kann jedoch ein Anspruch auf Wohngeld bestehen. Weitere Auskünfte zur Berufsausbildung und -förderung erteilen die Berufsberatung der örtlichen Arbeitsagentur und zur sozialen Sicherung die städtischen Stellen, wie Wohngeldamt oder BAföG-Amt.

Steht die Residenzpflicht einer Arbeitsaufnahme entgegen?

Nein. Die räumliche Aufenthaltsbeschränkung für Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung, die sogenannte Residenzpflicht, entfällt nach drei Monaten, es sei denn, die Wohnpflicht in einer Aufnahmeeinrichtung besteht fort. Grundsätzlich besteht danach die freie Wahl des Wohnortes.

Jedoch kann die Ausländerbehörde die räumliche Beschränkung jederzeit wieder anordnen, wenn die Person strafrechtlich in Erscheinung getreten ist oder konkrete Maßnahmen zu ihrer Rückführung in den Herkunftsstaat anstehen. Gleiches gilt für Personen, die eine Duldung besitzen.

Die Residenzpflicht wird ersetzt durch eine Wohnsitzauflage.

Steht die Wohnsitzauflage einer Arbeitsaufnahme entgegen?

Die sogenannte Wohnsitzauflage bedeutet, dass Personen, die Sozialleistungen beziehen, ihren Wohnsitz nicht frei wählen dürfen. Grundsätzlich steht die Wohnsitzauflage einer Arbeitsaufnahme nicht entgegen. Ob der Wohnsitzwechsel möglich ist, prüft die Ausländerbehörde in jedem Einzelfall. Nähere Auskünfte erteilt die zuständige Ausländerbehörde.

Erhalten Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung Unterstützung bei der Arbeitsplatzsuche?

Ja. Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung können sich bei der örtlichen Arbeitsagentur arbeitsuchend melden. Die Arbeitsagentur steht ihnen als Ansprechpartnerin zur Seite und berät sie.

Welche Möglichkeiten der Sprachförderung bestehen für Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung?

Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung sowie Personen mit einer Duldung und mit jeweils guter Bleibeperspektive haben seit November 2015 nun auch Zugang zu Integrationskursen.
Alle notwendigen Informationen sowie Zugangsbedingungen sind auf der Seite des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge zum Thema "Fragen und Antworten: Integrationskurse für Asylbewerber" zu finden (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte).

Ein Verzeichnis mit den Integrationskursorten sowie Informationen über die vielfältigen weiteren Integrationsangebote oder Beratungsstellen in Wohnortnähe sind auf der Seite des Auskunftssystems des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge (Web-GIS) zu finden (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte).

Darüber hinaus ist die berufsbezogene Sprachförderung (im Rahmen der sogenannten ESF-BAMF-Kurse) für Personen, die eine Aufenthaltsgestattung oder Duldung besitzen, möglich. Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme sind der Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt sowie vorhandene Sprachkenntnisse auf mindestens Niveau A1 (GER). Die im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) über das Bundesamt organisierten und geförderten Kurse verbinden Deutschunterricht, berufliche Qualifizierung und Möglichkeiten für Praktika.
Für die Kursvermittlung sind die Bleiberechtsnetzwerke vor Ort zuständig. Nähere Auskünfte erteilen auch der Bürgerservice des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge, Sprachschulen, Flüchtlingsberatungsstellen sowie die Beraterinnen und Berater des Bundesamtes vor Ort.

Die Kontaktdaten des Bürgerservices und der ESF-Hotline zur berufsbezogenen Sprachförderung finden Sie in der Kontaktbox in der rechten Spalte. Weitere Informationen zu den ESF-BAMF-Kursen finden Sie auf unserer Seite unter dem Thema "Deutsch für den Beruf" (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte).

Welche rechtlichen Grundlagen zum Arbeitsmarktzugang von Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung gibt es?

Die rechtlichen Grundlagen zum Arbeitsmarktzugang von Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung und Personen mit einer Duldung sind in den §§ 47 und 59 bis 61 des Asylgesetzes (AsylG), §§ 39, 40, 60a und 61 des Aufenthaltsgesetz (AufenthG) sowie in den §§ 26 und 32 der Beschäftigungsverordnung (BeschV) geregelt.

In den Paragraphen § 60a Abs. 6 des Aufenthaltsgesetzes (AufenthG) ist geregelt, wann die Erwerbstätigkeit, die die selbständige Tätigkeit einschließt (§ 2 Abs. 2 AufenthG) nicht erlaubt werden darf; im Umkehrschluss kann ansonsten die Erwerbstätigkeit und damit auch die selbständige Tätigkeit zugelassen werden.

Mit den Neuerungen durch das Asylbeschleunigungsgesetz vom 23.10.2015 wurden die Integrationskurse nun auch für Asylbewerberinnen und Asylbewerber mit einer hohen Bleibeperspektive geöffnet. Diese sind geregelt im § 44 des Aufenthaltsgesetzes (AufenthG). Auf den Integrationskurs aufbauend, ist auch die berufsbezogene Deutschförderung nach § 45a des Aufenthaltsgesetzes (AufenthG) möglich.

Zusatzinformationen

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns!

Bürgerservice

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 13 Uhr

Telefon: +49 911 943-6390
zum Kontaktformular

Hotline zum ESF-Programm

Berufsbezogene Sprachförderung

Montag bis Freitag
9:00 bis 12:00 Uhr

Telefon: +49 221 92426-400
E-Mail: Nachricht schreiben
zum Kontaktformular

Ansprechpartner im BAMF

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien