BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Voluntary return (REAG/GARP)

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focusing on people - offering security. Creating opportunities. Living change.

Voluntary return with REAG/GARP

With the REAG/GARP humanitarian promotional programme, the Federation and the Länder are supporting people who return to their country of origin voluntarily or who migrate on to a state which is willing to receive them. The International Organisation for Migration (IOM) organises and manages their departure via both promotional programmes.

Voluntary departure

The diagram below shows the number of voluntary departures which have been promoted with the REAG/GARP Programme since 1990.

Voluntary departure with REAG/GARP promotion since 1990Click on the image to enlarge the diagram. Source: Figure: BAMF| Figures: IOM (*figures for 2016 reflect approved applications) Version: January 2017

The large numbers of departures from 1997 to 2000 are a result of the ending of the Balkans conflicts (collapse of the State of Yugoslavia).

The most common return countries in 2016

The diagram below shows the return countries (also known as destination countries) and how many people had returned there by the end of 2016.

The diagram shows the return countries (home countries) and how many people returned to them in 2016.Click on the image to enlarge the diagram. Source: Diagram: BAMF| Figures: IOM

54,069 individuals were permitted to leave in 2016 via REAG/GARP. 35,514 people departed via the Federation-Länder assisted returns programme in the whole of the previous year 2015.

Voluntary departure with REAG/GARP promotion since 2005Click on the image to enlarge the diagram. Source: Figure: BAMF| Figures: IOM figures for 2016 reflect approved applications Version: January 2017

Latest developments

The number of approved departures to the vWEB countries and to Kosovo remains high. The increase in voluntary departures to Afghanistan, Iraq and Iran makes their percentage of overall departures smaller.

Destination country201420152016 (approvals)
Albania1,01011,26816,887
Serbia3,9726,1226,138
Kosovo3698,1225,402
Macedonia2,1032,8954,571
Montenegro1476451,889
Bosnia & Herzegovina1,2511,7051,450

Voluntary departures to Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq made up a large share of approved applications up to the end of September 2016.

Destination country 201420152016 (approvals)
Iraq1817225,660
Afghanistan1003083,322
Iran2723802,310

The numbers of departures only account for individuals who received support via the REAG/GARP Programme. Many of them were (needy) people who were no longer entitled to live in Germany (such as asylum-seekers whose applications had been turned down and individuals whose deportation had been suspended), or persons entitled to remain who returned voluntarily (e.g. successful asylum applicants and individuals with a residence permit issued under international law or for humanitarian reasons).
You can obtain more information on the REAG/GARP promotional programme or figures on other migration movements collected by the Federal Statistical Office by clicking on the links in the right-hand column.

Date 7 March 2017

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Freiwillige Rückkehr

Navigation und Service

Freiwillige Rückkehr mit REAG/GARP

Bund und Länder unterstützen mit dem humanitären Förderprogramm REAG/GARP Personen bei der freiwilligen Rückkehr in das Herkunftsland oder Weiterwanderung in einen aufnahmebereiten Staat. Die Internationale Organisation für Migration (IOM) organisiert und betreut über beide Förderprogramme die Ausreise.

Freiwillige Ausreisen

Nachfolgende Grafik zeigt die Anzahl der Freiwillige Ausreisen, die mit dem REAG/GARP-Programm seit 1990 gefördert wurden.

Diagramm zeigt eine Kurve, die den Anstieg und Abstieg der freiwilligen Ausreisen seit 1990 dokumentiert.Um die Grafik zu vergrößern, klicken Sie bitte auf das Bild. Quelle: Grafik: © BAMF| Zahlen: IOM

Die hohen Ausreisezahlen von 1997 bis 2000 gehen auf die Beendigung der Balkankonflikte (Zerfall des jugoslawischen Staates) zurück.

Häufigste Rückkehrländer 2016

Das folgende Diagramm zeigt die Rückkehrländer (sog. Zielländer) und wie viele Personen bis Ende 2016 in diese zurückgegangen sind.

Albanien, Serbien, Irak, Kosovo, Mazedonien, Afghanistan, Iran, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Montenegro und Ukraine zählen 2016 zu den häufigsten RückkehrländernUm die Grafik zu vergrößern, klicken Sie bitte auf das Bild. Quelle: Grafik: ©BAMF| Zahlen: IOM

54.069 Personen wurde 2016 die Ausreise über REAG/GARP bewilligt. Im gesamten Vorjahr 2015 reisten 35.514 Personen über das Bund-Länder-Rückkehrförderprogramm aus.

Diagramm zeigt eine Kurve, die den Anstieg und Abstieg der freiwilligen Ausreisen seit 2005 dokumentiert.Um die Grafik zu vergrößeren, klicken Sie bitte auf das Bild. Quelle: Grafik: © BAMF| Zahlen: IOM| Stand 2017

Neueste Entwicklungen

Die Zahl der bewilligten Ausreisen in die vWEB-Staaten und nach Kosovo ist weiterhin hoch. Durch die Zunahme der freiwilligen Ausreisen nach Afghanistan, Irak und Iran wird ihr prozentualer Anteil an den gesamten Ausreisen geringer.

Zielland201420152016 (bewilligt)
Albanien1.01011.26816.887
Serbien3.9726.1226.138
Kosovo3698.1225.402
Mazedonien2.1032.8954.571
Montenegro1476451.889
Bosnien u. Herzegowina1.2511.7051.450

Bis Ende September 2016 nahmen freiwillige Ausreisen nach Afghanistan, nach Iran und Irak einen großen Teil der bewilligten Anträge ein.

Zielland201420152016 (bewilligt)
Irak1817225.660
Afghanistan1003083.322
Iran2723802.310

Die Ausreisezahlen berücksichtigen nur durch das REAG/GARP-Programm unterstützte Personen. Vielfach handelt es sich dabei um (bedürftige) Personen, die in Deutschland keine Aufenthaltsberechtigung mehr haben (z.B. abgelehnte Asylbewerber, geduldete Personen) oder um bleibeberechtigte Personen, die freiwillig zurückkehren (z.B. anerkannte Asylbewerber, Personen mit Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus völkerrechtlichen oder humanitären Gründen).

Für weitere Informationen über das Förderprogramm REAG/GARP oder Zahlen zu sonstigen Wanderungsbewegungen, die das Statistische Bundesamt erhebt, folgen Sie bitte den Links in der rechten Spalte.

Datum 22.02.2017

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien