BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Asylum law

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focus on people - support and integrate

Asylum law

In accordance with Article 16a of the Basic Law (GG) of the Federal Republic of Germany, politically persecuted persons can be granted asylum in Germany.

As in many other countries, asylum law in Germany is not only guaranteed on the basis of the obligation under international law arising from the Geneva Convention on Refugees of 1951, but also has constitutional status as a fundamental right. It is the only fundamental right that is only accorded to foreign nationals.

Persecution is considered to be political if it causes specific violations of rights to the individual – in connection with his political convictions, his choice of religious belief or intangible characteristics that mark him out as being different – that, due to their intensity, exclude that person from the general peace framework of the state unit. Asylum law serves to protect human dignity in a more comprehensive sense.

Not every negative measure carried out by the state represents persecution relevant to asylum – even if it is connected to one of the personal characteristics specified. It must involve a specific violation of a legally protected interest and be of such intensity that it excludes the affected person from society. Finally it must involve a measure that is so serious that it violates human dignity and goes beyond what the population of the state in question would otherwise consider to be generally acceptable.

In principle, only state persecution is taken into consideration, i.e. persecution that is perpetrated by the state. Exceptions apply if non-state persecution can be attributed to the state or if the non-state persecutor is representing the state (quasi-state persecution).

General emergency situations such as poverty, civil wars, natural disasters or a lack of prospects are therefore ruled out as reasons for granting asylum. The guarantee of subsidiary protection comes into consideration in certain circumstances.

Recognition as being entitled to asylum is excluded in the event of entry to Germany via a safe third country. This also applies in cases where a return to that third country is not possible, such as in cases where the country is not specifically known due to a lack of corresponding information from the asylum applicant.

Date 2 May 2011

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Asylrecht

Navigation und Service

zur Startseite

Den Menschen im Blick. Schützen. Integrieren.

Politisch Verfolgte genießen Asyl

Asylrecht hat in Deutschland Verfassungsrang

Nach Artikel 16a des Grundgesetzes (GG) der Bundesrepublik Deutschland genießen politisch Verfolgte Asyl.

Das Asylrecht wird in Deutschland nicht nur - wie in vielen anderen Staaten - auf Grund der völkerrechtlichen Verpflichtung aus der Genfer Flüchtlingskonvention (GFK) von 1951 gewährt, sondern hat als Grundrecht Verfassungsrang. Es ist das einzige Grundrecht, das nur Ausländern zusteht.

Politisch ist eine Verfolgung dann, wenn sie dem Einzelnen in Anknüpfung an seine politische Überzeugung, seine religiöse Grundentscheidung oder an für ihn unverfügbare Merkmale, die sein Anderssein prägen, gezielt Rechtsverletzungen zufügt, die ihn ihrer Intensität nach aus der übergreifenden Friedensordnung der staatlichen Einheit ausgrenzen. Das Asylrecht dient dem Schutz der Menschenwürde in einem umfassenderen Sinne.

Nicht jede negative staatliche Maßnahme - selbst wenn sie an eines der genannten persönlichen Merkmale anknüpft – stellt eine asylrelevante Verfolgung dar. Es muss sich vielmehr einerseits um eine gezielte Rechtsgutverletzung handeln, andererseits muss sie in ihrer Intensität darauf gerichtet sein, den Betreffenden aus der Gemeinschaft auszugrenzen. Schließlich muss es sich um eine Maßnahme handeln, die so schwerwiegend ist, dass sie die Menschenwürde verletzt und über das hinausgeht, was die Bewohner des jeweiligen Staates ansonsten allgemein hinzunehmen haben.

Berücksichtigt wird grundsätzlich nur staatliche Verfolgung, also Verfolgung, die vom Staat ausgeht. Ausnahmen gelten, wenn die nichtstaatliche Verfolgung dem Staat zuzurechnen ist oder der nichtstaatliche Verfolger selbst an die Stelle des Staates getreten ist (quasistaatliche Verfolgung).

Allgemeine Notsituationen wie Armut, Bürgerkriege, Naturkatastrophen oder Perspektivlosigkeit sind damit als Gründe für eine Asylgewährung grundsätzlich ausgeschlossen. Hier kommt unter Umständen die Gewährung von subsidiärem Schutz in Betracht.

Bei einer Einreise über einen sicheren Drittstaat ist eine Anerkennung als Asylberechtigter ausgeschlossen. Dies gilt auch, wenn eine Rückführung in diesen Drittstaat nicht möglich ist, etwa weil dieser mangels entsprechender Angaben des Asylbewerbers nicht konkret bekannt ist.

Datum 12.12.2012

Zusatzinformationen

Fraud Phone Calls!
Falsche Drohanrufe!

Rotes Warnsymbol und Schriftzug "Vorsicht!"

Further Information: Click here!
Weitere Informationen: Hier klicken!