BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - The Dublin procedure

Navigation and service

The Dublin Procedure

The Dublin Procedure establishes which European State is responsible for examining an asylum application. This ensures that each asylum application is only examined by one Member State.

How the procedure works

The applicant is first of all interviewed in person in order to determine which Member State is competent. If a Member State establishes that an asylum application is to be processed in a different Member State, it submits a transfer request to the Member State concerned. If the latter agrees, the applicant is informed accordingly in the shape of a notice.

The lodging of an appeal against this has suspensive effect. The transfer period is blocked.

When the notice has become final, the Member States subsequently agree on the conditions of the transfer. If the transfer is not implemented within six months, competence for the procedure is passed to the Member State that has requested the transfer. If the applicant goes into hiding or is in prison, this period can be extended.

The Dublin III Regulation supercedes Dublin II

The "Regulation establishing the criteria and mechanisms for determining the Member State responsible for examining an application for international protection lodged in one of the Member States by a third-country national or a stateless person" [Regulation (EU) No 604/2013 - Dublin Regulation (recast)] of 26 June 2013 came into force on 19 July 2013, superceding the Dublin Regulation [Regulation (EC) 343/2003], also known as Dublin II.

Member States in which this regulation is directly-applicable law are all the Member States of the EU, plus Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

This regulation is implemented within the Federal Office by the following divisions:

  • 411 [Policy issues Dublin, apprehension procedure, EURODAC], and
  • M26 [Dublin procedure (transfer requests from Member States, transfers)]

as well as by the regional offices of the Federal Office.

Further information on the Dublin procedure and current figures on requests for cases to be accepted or for transfers under the Dublin procedure are provided by the brochure entitled "Das Bundesamt in Zahlen" (The Federal Office in Figures), which you can download.

Date 3 May 2011

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Dublin-Verfahren

Navigation und Service

zur Startseite

Den Menschen im Blick. Schützen. Integrieren.

Dublin-Verfahren

Im Dublinverfahren wird der für die Prüfung eines Asylantrags zuständige Staat festgestellt. Damit wird sichergestellt, dass jeder Asylantrag nur von einem Mitgliedstaat inhaltlich geprüft wird.

Ablauf des Verfahrens

Zur Bestimmung des zuständigen Mitgliedstaates ist mit dem Antragsteller vorab ein persönliches Gespräch zu führen. Stellt ein Mitgliedstaat fest, dass ein Asylantrag in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat zu bearbeiten ist, stellt er ein Übernahmeersuchen/Wiederaufnahmeersuchen an den betreffenden Mitgliedstaat. Stimmt dieser zu, erhält der Antragsteller hierüber Mitteilung in Form eines Bescheides.

Ein hiergegen eingelegter Rechtsbehelf hat aufschiebende Wirkung. Die Überstellungsfrist wird gehemmt.

Wenn der Bescheid bestandskräftig, bzw. rechtskräftig ist, vereinbaren die Mitgliedstaaten die Modalitäten der Überstellung. Wird die Überstellung nicht binnen sechs Monaten durchgeführt, geht die Zuständigkeit für das Verfahren an den Mitgliedstaat über, der um Übernahme ersucht hat. Taucht der Antragsteller unter oder befindet er sich in Strafhaft, kann sich diese Frist verlängern.

Dublin III-Verordnung löst Dublin II ab

Die "Verordnung zur Festlegung der Kriterien und Verfahren zur Bestimmung des Mitgliedstaats, der für die Prüfung eines von einem Drittstaatsangehörigen in einem Mitgliedstaat, der für die Prüfung eines von einem Drittstaatsangehörigen oder Staatenlosen in einem Mitgliedstaat gestellten Antrags auf internationalen Schutz zuständig ist" [VO (EG) 604/2013 - Dublin-Verordnung (Neufassung)] vom 26.06.2013 trat am 19.07.2013 in Kraft und löste die Dublin-Verordnung [VO (EG) 343/2003], auch Dublin II genannt, ab.

Mitgliedstaaten, in denen diese Verordnung unmittelbar geltendes Recht ist, sind alle Mitgliedstaaten der EU sowie Norwegen, Island, die Schweiz und Liechtenstein.

Die Umsetzung dieser Verordnung übernehmen im Bundesamt die Referate

  • 411 [Grundsatzfragen (Dublin), Aufgriffsverfahren und EURODAC] und
  • M26 [Dublin-Verfahren (Übernahmeersuchen aus Mitgliedstaaten), Überstellungen]

sowie die Außenstellen des Bundesamtes.

Weitere Informationen zum Dublinverfahren und aktuelle Zahlen zu Dublin-Übernahmersuchen oder Überstellungen bietet die Broschüre "Das Bundesamt in Zahlen", die Ihnen als download zur Verfügung steht.

Datum 22.05.2014