BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Entry rules

Navigation and service

Entering Germany

Citizens of a Member State of the European Union can enter Germany without a visa.

Foreigners from other countries of origin require a visa as a matter of principle.

display as attention: N.B.:

The European Union has withdrawn the visa requirement for visits of up to three months in a six-month period for citizens of certain states. You can find out whether the country of which you are a citizen is one of these countries from Germany’s representations abroad or on the website of the Federal Foreign Office (see link in the right-hand column).

Application procedure

You need to apply for a visa in person from the German representation abroad in the territory of which you live whilst still in your home country.

The best thing to do is to find out beforehand what documents you need and what requirements you need to meet. You can obtain the information you need for the visa procedure directly via the website of the responsible embassy or consulate.

You will find an overview of the German representations abroad including contact addresses and telephone numbers on the website of the Federal Foreign Office (the German Foreign Ministry; see link in the right-hand column). There you will also find general information on how to enter Germany and on the visa requirements.

Costs and processing time

The fee for a visa is generally 60 Euro per person.

The representations abroad need an average of between two and ten working days to decide on a visa application for a short stay of up to three months. This may sometimes take longer during the holiday period.

If you would like to apply for a visa for a longer stay, you should expect the processing to take several months. Please also note that because of the large amount of visitors in many representations abroad an appointment should be arranged in advance and that you may need to wait.

display as attention: N.B.:

If you wish to work in Germany, you must to apply for a visa as a matter of principle. Citizens of the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are exempt.

Date 4 April 2014

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Einreisebestimmungen

Navigation und Service

zur Startseite

Den Menschen im Blick. Schützen. Integrieren.

Einreise nach Deutschland

Angehörige eines Mitgliedstaates der Europäischen Union können ohne Visum nach Deutschland einreisen.

Ausländerinnen und Ausländer aus anderen Herkunftsländern benötigen grundsätzlich ein Visum.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Hinweis

Für Besuche bis zu drei Monaten pro Halbjahr hat die Europäische Union die Visumpflicht für Angehörige bestimmter Staaten aufgehoben. Ob das Land, dessen Staatsbürger Sie sind, zu diesen Ländern zählt, können Sie bei den Auslandsvertretungen Deutschlands oder auf der Internetseite des Auswärtigen Amtes (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte) erfahren.

Antragsverfahren

Ein Visum müssen Sie noch in Ihrem Heimatland persönlich bei der deutschen Auslandsvertretung beantragen, in deren Amtsbezirk Sie leben.

Informieren Sie sich am besten vorab, welche Unterlagen Sie benötigen und welche Besonderheiten Sie beachten müssen. Die notwendigen Informationen zum Visumverfahren erhalten Sie unmittelbar über die Internetseite der zuständigen Botschaft/des zuständigen Konsulats.

Eine Übersicht der deutschen Auslandsvertretungen mit Kontaktadressen und Telefonnummern finden Sie auf der Internetseite des Auswärtigen Amtes (des Außenministeriums Deutschlands; Link in der rechten Spalte). Dort finden Sie auch allgemeine Informationen zur Einreise nach Deutschland und zu den Visabestimmungen.

Kosten und Bearbeitungszeit

Die Gebühr für ein Visum beträgt in der Regel 60 Euro pro Person.

Die Auslandsvertretungen benötigen durchschnittlich zwischen zwei und zehn Arbeitstagen, um über einen Visumantrag für einen kurzen Aufenthalt bis zu drei Monaten zu entscheiden. Während der Urlaubszeit kann dies mitunter länger dauern.

Wenn Sie ein Visum für einen längeren Aufenthalt beantragen möchten, sollten Sie mit einer mehrmonatigen Bearbeitungszeit rechnen. Bitte beachten Sie auch, dass aufgrund des hohen Besucheraufkommens in vielen Auslandsvertretungen vorab ein Termin vereinbart werden sollte und Wartezeiten entstehen können.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Hinweis

Wenn Sie in Deutschland arbeiten möchten, müssen Sie grundsätzlich ein Visum beantragen. Ausgenommen hiervon sind Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Europäischen Union, Islands, Liechtensteins, Norwegens und der Schweiz.

Datum 19.09.2012

Zusatzinformationen

Fraud Phone Calls!
Falsche Drohanrufe!

Rotes Warnsymbol und Schriftzug "Vorsicht!"

Warning!
For further Information, please click here!

Vorsicht!
Für weitere Informationen bitte hier klicken!