BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Studying and education

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focus on people - support and integrate

Studying and education in Germany

School pupils

A separate residence title for the purpose of attending school can generally only be issued for a time-limited school student exchange or to attend an intensive language course that is also of a limited duration, provided the means of subsistence is ensured during the stay (section 16 subs. 5 of the Residence Act), further information: see brochure entitled "Studying and Working in Germany", pages 9 et seq.

Trainees

Third-country nationals can receive a residence permit for the purpose of completing vocational training courses (section 16 subs. 5a of the Residence Act) as well as to undertake in-company basic or further training, also known as dual education (section 17 subs. 1 of the Residence Act). The latter instance requires consent from the Federal Employment Agency, unless the position is one that does not require prior consent.

Possibilities for limited employment are available subject to certain requirements (section 16 subs. 5a and section 17 subs. 2 of the Residence Act), further information: see brochure entitled "Studying and Working in Germany", pages 10 et seq.

Applicants to study

Third-country nationals who wish to study in Germany but have not yet been admitted to a state or state-recognized university can receive a residence permit of up to nine months (section 16 subs. 1a of the Residence Act). This requires proof of qualification for admission, which can be obtained if necessary by taking an entrance examination.

Further information: see brochure entitled "Studying and Working in Germany", pages 12 et seq.

Students

A foreign university student can be issued a residence permit for the purpose of studying in Germany with a duration of at least one and at the most for two years (section 16 subs. 1 sentence 5 of the Residence Act). Studying must be the primary purpose of their stay; correspondence courses or part-time courses such as at nights or on weekends are insufficient.

Knowledge of the language of instruction is not required under certain conditions (section 16 subs. 1 sentence 4 of the Residence Act). Limited employment as well as study-related work are permitted (section 16 subs. 3 of the Residence Act).

Students to whom a residence title for the purpose of studying has been issued by another EU Member State can under certain conditions obtain a residence permit in order to study in Germany (section 16 subs. 6 of the Residence Act), further information: see brochure entitled "Studying and Working in Germany", pages 12 et seq.

Under certain conditions, graduates of German universities are entitled to a settlement permit after as little as two years (section 18b of the Residence Act).

Further information: see brochure entitled "Studying and Working in Germany", pages 34 et seq.

Date 17 June 2013

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Studium und Ausbildung

Navigation und Service

Studium und Ausbildung in Deutschland

Schüler

Ein eigener Aufenthaltstitel zum Zweck des Schulbesuchs kann grundsätzlich nur im Rahmen etwa eines zeitlich begrenzten Schüleraustausches oder für die Teilnahme an einem ebenfalls zeitlich begrenzten Intensivsprachkurs erteilt werden, soweit der Lebensunterhalt während des Aufenthaltes gesichert ist (§ 16 Abs. 5 AufenthG), weitere Infos: Broschüre "Bildung und Beruf", Seiten 9f.

Auszubildende

Bürger eines Drittstaats können für die Aufnahme einer qualifizierten schulischen Berufsausbildung (§ 16 Abs. 5a AufenthG) sowie für die Teilnahme an einer betrieblichen Aus- oder Weiterbildung, einer sogenannten dualen Ausbildung (§ 17 Abs. 1 AufenthG), eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis erhalten. Bedingung im letztgenannten Fall ist, dass die Bundesagentur für Arbeit zugestimmt hat, soweit es sich nicht um eine zustimmungsfreie Beschäftigung handelt.

Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eröffnen sich Möglichkeiten zu einer beschränkten Beschäftigungsaufnahme (§§ 16 Abs. 5a und 17 Abs. 2 AufenthG), weitere Infos: Broschüre "Bildung und Beruf", Seiten 10f

Studienbewerber

Drittstaatsangehörige, die in Deutschland studieren möchten, aber noch nicht an einer staatlichen oder staatlich anerkannten Hochschule zugelassen wurden, können eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis von bis zu neun Monaten erhalten (§ 16 Abs. 1a AufenthG). Voraussetzung ist der Nachweis einer sogenannten Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, die gegebenenfalls über eine Feststellungsprüfung erworben werden kann, weitere Infos: Broschüre "Bildung und Beruf", Seiten 12f

Studierende

Einem ausländischen Studierenden kann zum Zwecke des Studiums in Deutschland eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis mit einer Geltungsdauer  von mindestens einem Jahr und höchstens zwei Jahren erteilt werden (§ 16 Abs. 1 Satz 5 AufenthG). Das Studium muss den Hauptzweck des Aufenthalts darstellen, ein Abend, Wochenend- oder Fernstudium reicht somit nicht aus. 

Kenntnisse in der Ausbildungssprache werden unter bestimmten Bedingungen nicht verlangt (§ 16 Abs. 1 Satz 4 AufenthG), Beschäftigung in beschränktem Umfang sowie die Ausübung studentischer Nebentätigkeiten ist gestattet (§ 16 Abs. 3 AufenthG). 

Studierende, denen von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der EU ein Aufenthaltstitel zum Zweck des Studiums erteilt wurde, können unter bestimmten Bedingungen (§ 16 Abs. 6 AufenthG) eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu Studienzwecken in Deutschland erhalten, weitere Infos: Broschüre "Bildung und Beruf", Seiten 12f

Absolventen einer deutschen Hochschule haben unter bestimmten Bedingungen bereits nach zwei Jahren Anspruch auf Erteilung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis (§ 18b AufenthG), weitere Infos: Broschüre "Bildung und Beruf", Seiten 34f.

Datum 11.12.2012

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien