BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - The recognition process

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focusing on people - offering security. Creating opportunities. Living change.

The recognition process

On application, the professional qualification acquired outside Germany will be compared with the German professional qualification. In order to make an application, interested parties must contact the office responsible for their profession. Information about offices responsible for individual professions can be found on the Internet at www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de or by calling +49 30-1815-1111.

First, the applicant must decide with which specific German professional qualification they want their qualification to be compared. The office responsible will be happy to help in this regard.

Once the documents have been submitted, they will be checked to see if there are any significant differences between the professional qualification was obtained outside Germany and the German professional qualification. If this is the case, a check will be made to see if the differences can be made up for by using other qualifications or professional experience. If the documents are inadequate for assessing the professional qualification, a qualification analysis may take place, e.g. by testing the applicant's work or carrying out professional interviews. With effect from 1 December 2012, the process should not take longer than three months as a rule if all the documents are complete.

Full equivalency will be certified if no significant differences are established between the foreign and German qualification. In the case of regulated professions, the professional accreditation will be issued. If significant differences are established between the foreign qualification and the German professional qualification, the applicant will receive an assessment for non-regulated professions in which these differences will be precisely stated. This will allow applicants to apply to employers directly or to find suitable further training. In regulated professions applicants can make adjustments to compensate for the differences. Depending on the profession, they will need to attend a course to qualify fully or sit a professional examination.

Fees are charged for this process, and these are set by the office that is responsible. Therefore applicants should find out about the likely costs in advance of making an application. If they are registered as looking for work or receive social welfare benefits, the costs can be met by state offices under certain conditions.

Date 17 December 2015

Additional Information

Questions and Answers

Who is entitled to apply?

Applications can be made by anyone who has successfully completed professional training outside Germany. Important: Your nationality is not relevant to the process. Nor do you need to have a residence permit.

Can the application be made from abroad?

You can apply if you do not live in Germany. You must simply have a professional qualification that you have gained outside Germany and prove that you intend to work in Germany.

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Your contact to us:

Working and Living in Germany

to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Anerkennungsverfahren

Navigation und Service

Das Anerkennungsverfahren

Der im Ausland erworbene Berufsabschluss wird auf Antrag mit dem deutschen Berufsabschluss verglichen. Um den Antrag zu stellen, müssen sich Interessierte an die Stelle wenden, die für ihre Berufsgruppe zuständig ist. Informationen zu den für die einzelnen Berufe zuständigen Stellen finden sich im Internet unter www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de oder telefonisch unter +49 30-1815-1111.

In einem ersten Schritt müssen sich Antragsteller entscheiden, mit welchem konkreten, deutschen Berufsabschluss sie Ihren Abschluss vergleichen lassen wollen. Hier hilft die jeweils zuständige Stelle gerne weiter.

Nachdem die Unterlagen eingereicht wurden, wird geprüft, ob wesentliche Unterschiede zwischen Ihrem im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss und dem deutschen Berufsabschluss bestehen. Wenn das der Fall ist, wird geprüft, ob die Unterschiede durch andere Nachweise oder durch Berufserfahrung ausgeglichen werden können. Falls die Unterlagen für die Bewertung des Berufsabschlusses nicht ausreichen, kann auch eine Qualifikationsanalyse z.B. über Arbeitsproben oder Fachgespräche erfolgen. Wenn alle Unterlagen vollständig sind, sollte das Verfahren ab 1. Dezember 2012 in der Regel nicht länger als drei Monate dauern.

Wenn keine wesentlichen Unterschiede zwischen der Qualifikation und dem deutschen Abschluss festgestellt werden, wird die vollständige Gleichwertigkeit bescheinigt beziehungsweise bei reglementierten Berufen die Berufszulassung erteilt. Wenn im Verfahren wesentliche Unterschiede zwischen der ausländischen Qualifikation und dem deutschen Berufsabschluss festgestellt werden, erhalten Antragsteller in den nicht-reglementierten Berufen einen Bescheid, in dem diese Unterschiede genau beschrieben werden. Damit können sie sich direkt bei Arbeitgebern bewerben oder sich auch eine individuell passende Weiterbildung aussuchen. Bei reglementierten Berufen können sie die Unterschiede ausgleichen. Je nach Beruf müssen sie dafür an einer Qualifizierungsmaßnahme oder einer fachlichen Prüfung teilnehmen.

Für das Verfahren fallen Gebühren an. Diese werden von der jeweils zuständigen Stelle festgelegt. Antragsteller sollten sich daher bereits vor der Antragstellung über die voraussichtlichen Kosten informieren. Sollten sie arbeitssuchend gemeldet sein oder Sozialleistungen beziehen, können die Kosten unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen durch staatliche Stellen übernommen werden.

Datum 30.03.2012

Zusatzinformationen

Fragen und Antworten

Wer hat nach dem neuen Gesetz Anspruch auf Anerkennung?

Anträge können von allen Personen, die im Ausland erfolgreich eine Berufsausbildung abgeschlossen haben, gestellt werden. Wichtig: Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit ist für das Verfahren nicht entscheidend. Auch eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis brauchen Sie nicht.

Kann der Antrag auch aus dem Ausland gestellt werden?

Sie können einen Antrag stellen, wenn Sie nicht in Deutschland leben. Sie müssen lediglich einen im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss haben und nachweisen, dass Sie die Absicht haben, in Deutschland zu arbeiten.

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen an unsere Hotline? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns!

Hotline zu "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland"

Die Hotline "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland" erreichen Sie unter der Telefonnummer +49 (0)30-1815-1111

zum Kontaktformular

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien