BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Background information on recognition

Navigation and service

to welcome page

Focusing on people - offering security. Creating opportunities. Living change.

Background information concerning recognition

Having your foreign professional qualifications recognised or evaluated is an important step towards integration into the workplace. Since 1 April 2012, immigrants have had the option of having the professional qualifications that they obtained outside Germany compared with the requirements set for this profession in Germany. This is particularly important if they wish to practise a regulated profession in Germany.

"Regulated" means that the profession cannot be practised without a state approval procedure or without recognition of your professional qualification. In Germany, regulated professions include those in the health and education sectors (e.g. doctor, nurse or teacher). In addition, special regulations apply in some professions if you are self-employed (as a baker or hairdresser, for example).

In non-regulated professions, you do not need formal recognition of your qualification to be allowed to work (for example as an employee in retail or as an IT worker). In these cases, you can apply for jobs on the labour market without having your qualifications assessed. Having your qualifications checked can however be useful, as your employer will be better able to evaluate your qualifications for the job.

display as attention: Important:

Your nationality is not relevant to the process. Nor do you need to have a residence permit. You can even apply if you do not live in Germany. You must simply have a professional qualification that you have obtained outside Germany and prove that you intend to work in Germany.

You can find out on the Internet at www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de or from the Federal Office's telephone hotline on +49 30 1815-1111 (charged at standard German tariffs for landlines) as to whether your profession is regulated in Germany, which laws apply to the regulation and which office you must contact to have your qualifications checked.

Date 17 December 2015

Additional Information

Questions and Answers

Who is entitled to apply?

Applications can be made by anyone who has successfully completed professional training outside Germany. Important: Your nationality is not relevant to the process. Nor do you need to have a residence permit.

Can the application be made from abroad?

You can apply if you do not live in Germany. You must simply have a professional qualification that you have gained outside Germany and prove that you intend to work in Germany.

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Your contact to us:

Working and Living in Germany

to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2018 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Hintergrundinformationen

Navigation und Service

Hintergrundinformationen zur Anerkennung

Die Anerkennung oder Bewertung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen ist ein wichtiger Schritt für die berufliche Integration. Seit dem 1. April 2012 haben Zuwanderer die Möglichkeit, ihren im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss mit den Anforderungen an diesen Beruf in Deutschland vergleichen zu lassen. Dies ist für vor allem dann wichtig, wenn sie einen reglementierten Beruf in Deutschland ausüben wollen.

„Reglementiert“ bedeutet, dass der Beruf ohne ein staatliches Zulassungsverfahren und ohne eine Anerkennung ihrer Berufsqualifikation nicht ausgeübt werden darf. In Deutschland sind unter anderem Berufe im Gesundheits- und Bildungssektor (beispielsweise Ärztin, Krankenpfleger oder Erzieher) reglementiert. Außerdem gelten in einigen Berufen spezielle Regelungen, wenn Sie eine Selbstständigkeit anstreben (beispielsweise als Bäcker oder Friseur).

In nicht-reglementierten Berufen brauchen Sie dagegen keine formelle Anerkennung Ihres Abschlusses, um arbeiten zu dürfen (beispielsweise als Angestellter im Einzelhandel oder als Informatiker). Hier können Sie sich auch ohne eine Bewertung der Qualifikationen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt bewerben. Eine Prüfung Ihrer Qualifikationen kann aber trotzdem sinnvoll sein, damit der Arbeitgeber Ihre Qualifikationen besser einschätzen kann.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Wichtig:

Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit ist für das Verfahren nicht entscheidend. Auch eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis brauchen Sie nicht. Sie können einen Antrag sogar stellen, wenn Sie nicht in Deutschland leben. Sie müssen lediglich einen im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss haben und nachweisen, dass Sie die Absicht haben, in Deutschland zu arbeiten.

Ob Ihr Beruf in Deutschland reglementiert ist, durch welche Gesetze er geregelt wird und an welche Stelle Sie sich zur Prüfung Ihrer Qualifikationen wenden müssen, erfahren Sie im Internet unter www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de oder bei der Telefon-Hotline des Bundesamts unter der Nummer +49 30-1815-1111 zu den üblichen Kosten ins deutsche Festnetz.

 

Datum 30.03.2012

Zusatzinformationen

Fragen und Antworten

Wer hat nach dem neuen Gesetz Anspruch auf Anerkennung?

Anträge können von allen Personen, die im Ausland erfolgreich eine Berufsausbildung abgeschlossen haben, gestellt werden. Wichtig: Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit ist für das Verfahren nicht entscheidend. Auch eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis brauchen Sie nicht.

Kann der Antrag auch aus dem Ausland gestellt werden?

Sie können einen Antrag stellen, wenn Sie nicht in Deutschland leben. Sie müssen lediglich einen im Ausland erworbenen Berufsabschluss haben und nachweisen, dass Sie die Absicht haben, in Deutschland zu arbeiten.

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen an unsere Hotline? Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns!

Hotline zu "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland"

Die Hotline "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland" erreichen Sie unter der Telefonnummer +49 (0)30-1815-1111

zum Kontaktformular

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien