BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Contacts

Navigation and service

Contacts

Who can advise you on questions regarding the law on residence depends on whether you are a citizen of the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA - consisting of the EU States plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and Switzerland, or from another state (known as a third country) or have immigrated as an ethnic German repatriate.

Contacts for citizens of the European Union, the EEA and Switzerland

If, as an EU citizen or a citizen of the EEA, you would like to live permanently in Germany, you may take advantage of the right of freedom of movement. This also applies to family members if they themselves hold a different nationality (sections 1-3 and 12 of the Freedom of Movement Act/EU [Freizügigkeitsgesetz/EU]).

Upon entering Germany, the law on residence requires you to register at the registration office, as must all Germans. The immigration office will issue you with a document concerning the right of residence ex officio (meaning that you do not have to make a separate application) and will issue a residence card to your family members if they hold a different nationality than you do.

Swiss nationals also enjoy freedom of movement in Germany on account of the Freedom of Movement agreement between the European Union and Switzerland. A residence permit will be issued to you by the immigration authority to certify your right of residence.

Contacts for ethnic German repatriates

If you are an ethnic German repatriate or a family member of an ethnic German repatriate, you can contact your local town, municipality or district administration about issues relating to nationality. The staff there can also help with all other official matters.

Contacts for people who come from states outside the European Union, the EEA and Switzerland

Citizens of states which do not belong to the EU, the EEA, or from Switzerland, must contact the immigration authority in their town or municipality with regard to all issues concerning the law on residence. This authority is responsible for all matters pertaining to legal residence, including permission to take up gainful employment, and grants residence and settlement permits as well as the permanent EU residence permit.

The town, municipal or district administration in your town or local area will assist you if you do not know which immigration authority is responsible for you.

Date 17 December 2015

Additional Information

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Service Center

From Monday to Friday
09:00 a.m. to 03:00 p.m.

Telephone: +49 911 943-0
to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2017 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Ansprechpartner

Navigation und Service

Ansprechpartner

Wer Sie bei Fragen zum Aufenthaltsrecht beraten kann, hängt davon ab, ob Sie Bürger der Europäischen Union (EU), des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR- bestehend aus den EU-Staaten sowie Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen) und der Schweiz sind, aus einem anderen Staat (so genanntem Drittstaat) kommen oder als Spätaussiedler zugewandert sind.

Ansprechpartner für Bürger der EU, des EWR und der Schweiz

Wenn Sie als EU-Bürger oder als Bürger des EWR auf Dauer in Deutschland leben möchten, können Sie von Ihrem Freizügigkeitsrecht Gebrauch machen; dies gilt auch für Ihre Familienmitglieder, wenn diese selbst eine andere Staatsangehörigkeit besitzen (§§ 1-3 und 12 Freizügigkeitsgesetz/EU).  

Nach Ihrer Einreise müssen Sie sich, wie jeder Deutsche auch, beim Meldeamt einwohnerrechtlich anmelden. Die Ausländerbehörde erteilt Ihnen von Amts wegen (was bedeutet, dass Sie hierzu keinen Antrag stellen müssen) eine Bescheinigung über das Aufenthaltsrecht und Ihren Familienmitgliedern, wenn diese eine andere Staatsangehörigkeit besitzen, eine Aufenthaltskarte.

Als Staatsangehöriger der Schweiz genießen Sie aufgrund des Freizügigkeitsabkommens zwischen der Europäischen Union und der Schweiz in Deutschland ebenfalls Freizügigkeit; Ihnen wird zur Bescheinigung ihres Aufenthaltsrechts von der Ausländerbehörde eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis ausgestellt.

Ansprechpartner für Spätaussiedler

Als Spätaussiedler oder deren Familienangehöriger können Sie sich bei Fragen zur Staatsangehörigkeit an die Stadt-, Gemeinde- oder Kreisverwaltung Ihres Wohnortes wenden. Die Mitarbeiter dort helfen auch bei allen anderen behördlichen Fragen.

Ansprechpartner für Menschen aus Staaten außerhalb der EU, EWR und Schweiz

Bürger aus Staaten, die nicht zur EU, dem EWR und der Schweiz gehören, müssen sich bei allen Fragen zum Aufenthaltsrecht an die Ausländerbehörde ihrer Stadt oder Gemeinde wenden. Diese Behörde ist für alle aufenthaltsrechtlichen Angelegenheiten einschließlich der Erlaubnis zur Ausübung einer Erwerbstätigkeit zuständig und erteilt die Aufenthalts- oder Niederlassungserlaubnis.

Die Stadt-, Gemeinde- oder Kreisverwaltung in Ihrer Gemeinde oder Stadt hilft Ihnen weiter, wenn Sie die zuständige Ausländerbehörde nicht kennen.

Datum 18.09.2012

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien