BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Statutory social insurance

Navigation and service

Statutory social insurance

The social insurance scheme in Germany is a statutory insurance system providing effective protection in case of major crises and their consequences such as illness, unemployment and long-term care needs. The aim is to provide each individual with a stable standard of living, provide support and a pension when people have left employment.

The social insurance scheme is a mandatory form of insurance. Half of the statutory social insurance contributions are paid by the employer. The other half is paid by the employee. It is automatically deducted from their salary or wages. There are two exceptions: Employees pay slightly more than employers for their health insurance, whilst employers pay the full contribution for accident insurance. You acquire an entitlement to benefits from the different areas of the statutory social insurance scheme by making these contributions.

The contribution payable to social insurance is calculated in accordance with income as a matter of principle. Contributions towards health and pensions insurance are however capped at a specific level of income (known as the contribution assessment ceiling).

The pensions insurance scheme

All employees are subject to mandatory statutory pensions insurance. The pensions insurance scheme ensures that you are financially secure in your old age.

The arrangement until 2012 was that, as a rule, you would be paid a pension when you reached the age of 65. The retirement age is subsequently being increased to 67 in stages. This age limit will then apply to anyone born after 1964 from 2029 onwards. However, there will be exceptions, for example for people who have paid into the pension scheme for a particularly long time.

The pensions insurance scheme also supports you if you become unable to work during your working life, meaning that you are unable to work at all, or only to a certain degree, or if you are widowed or an orphan.

display as attention: Important information

The statutory pension is lower than your income during your working life. To maintain your standard of living during old age, you should supplement the statutory pension insurance with a private scheme.

Health insurance

The statutory health insurance helps you and your family when you are ill.

In addition it pays for many costs of healthcare provision (e.g. the dentist), as well as paying for rehabilitation measures and the costs of childbirth.

If you cannot work for a prolonged period because of illness and therefore do not receive your salary from your employer, the statutory health insurance pays you sick pay (Krankengeld) as an equalisation payment.

Statutory health insurance cover is mandatory for employees up to a specific income level (general or special annual remuneration ceiling). Above this ceiling, you can select whether you wish to remain in the statutory health insurance or join a private scheme. You are obliged to select one of these variants. It is not possible to do without health insurance altogether.

display as hint: Tip

Even if you are self-employed, you can also decide whether you wish to be insured via the statutory health insurance scheme or through a private fund. Private health insurance funds however often differ in terms of their contributions and benefits. Research these carefully and always compare several funds. The staff at the Migration Advisory Service for Adult Immigrants will also be happy to help you.

Long-term care insurance

Long-term care insurance will help you if you cannot look after yourself in old age or because of a severe illness and are dependent on long-term care. In addition, long-term care insurance provides financial support and advice to those who care for their relatives. You will always need to submit an application if you would like to claim benefits from the long-term care insurance scheme.

If you have statutory health insurance, you are automatically a member of the statutory long-term care insurance scheme. If however you are insured with a private health care insurance scheme, you must take out an additional private long-term care insurance policy.

Accident insurance

The statutory accident insurance helps you and your family cope with health and financial problems that are the immediate consequence of an accident at work or occupational illness. Accidents at work also include accidents on the way to and from work or school.

Unemployment insurance

Unemployment insurance is also part of the statutory social insurance. Everyone is insured with the exception of those in negligible employment (geringfügige Beschäftigung). You can find out more on the subject of support for the unemployed by following "On the topic" in the right-hand column.

display as address: Information available locally

You can obtain further information in your area from:

  • the Migration Advisory Service for Adult Immigrants and the Youth Advisory Service,
  • the town, municipal and district administration: insurance office,
  • consumer advice bureaux,
  • the information and advisory offices of the Deutsche Rentenversicherung (German statutory pension insurance scheme),
  • health insurance funds, insurance offices or private insurance providers,
  • accident insurance providers.
Date 18 December 2015

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Gesetzliche Sozialversicherung

Navigation und Service

Gesetzliche Sozialversicherung

Die deutsche Sozialversicherung ist ein gesetzliches Versicherungssystem, das wirksamen finanziellen Schutz vor großen Lebensrisiken und deren Folgen wie Krankheit, Arbeitslosigkeit, Alter und Pflegebedürftigkeit bietet. Sie will jedem Einzelnen einen stabilen Lebensstandard garantieren, gibt Unterstützung und trägt die Rente, wenn die Menschen aus der Berufstätigkeit ausgeschieden sind.

Die Sozialversicherung ist eine Pflichtversicherung. Die Hälfte der Beiträge für die gesetzliche Sozialversicherung wird vom Arbeitgeber bezahlt. Die andere Hälfte bezahlen Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer selbst. Sie wird automatisch vom Gehalt oder Lohn abgezogen. Es gibt zwei Ausnahmen: Für die Krankenversicherung zahlen Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer etwas mehr als Arbeitgeberinnen und Arbeitgeber, dafür bezahlen Arbeitgeberinnen und Arbeitgeber die kompletten Beiträge zur Unfallversicherung. Durch diese Beiträge erwerben Sie Ansprüche auf Leistungen aus den unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Sozialversicherung.

Der Beitrag zur Sozialversicherung richtet sich grundsätzlich nach dem Einkommen. Allerdings gilt für die Kranken- und Rentenversicherung, dass der Beitrag ab einer gewissen Einkommenshöhe nicht weiter ansteigt (sogenannte Beitragsbemessungsgrenze).

Rentenversicherung

Grundsätzlich sind Arbeitnehmer in der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung pflichtversichert. Durch die Rentenversicherung sind Sie im Alter finanziell abgesichert.

Bis zum Jahr 2012 bekamen Sie in der Regel ab dem 65. Lebensjahr eine Rente ausbezahlt, seitdem wird das Rentenalter stufenweise bis auf 67 Jahre angehoben; ab dem Jahr 2029 gilt diese Altersgrenze dann für alle, die ab 1964 geboren sind. Allerdings wird es auch dann Ausnahmen geben, beispielsweise für Menschen, die besonders lange Beiträge zur gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung entrichtet haben.

Die Rentenversicherung unterstützt Sie auch, wenn Sie im Laufe des Arbeitslebens erwerbsgemindert werden, dass heißt, wenn Sie aufgrund einer Krankheit oder einer Behinderung nicht mehr oder nur noch teilweise arbeiten können oder wenn Sie Witwe/Witwer oder Waise sind.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Hinweis

Die gesetzliche Rente ist geringer als das Einkommen während der Berufstätigkeit. Um Ihren Lebensstandard im Alter halten zu können, sollten Sie die gesetzliche Rentenversicherung durch eine private Vorsorge ergänzen.

Krankenversicherung

Die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung hilft Ihnen und Ihrer Familie, wenn Sie krank sind.

Außerdem übernimmt sie viele Kosten für die Gesundheitsvorsorge (zum Beispiel beim Zahnarzt), bezahlt Rehabilitationsmaßnahmen und übernimmt die Kosten für die Geburt Ihrer Kinder.

Wenn Sie wegen einer Krankheit längere Zeit nicht arbeiten können und deshalb kein Gehalt von Ihrem Arbeitgeber bekommen, zahlt die gesetzliche Krankenkasse Ihnen ein so genanntes Krankengeld als Ausgleich.

Für Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer ist die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung bis zu einer bestimmten Einkommensgrenze Pflicht (allgemeine beziehungsweise besondere Jahresarbeitentgeltgrenze). Oberhalb dieser Grenze können Sie wählen, ob Sie Mitglied der gesetzlichen oder einer privaten Krankenversicherung sein möchten. Eine von diesen beiden Varianten müssen Sie wählen. Es ist nicht möglich, ganz auf Krankenversicherungsschutz zu verzichten.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Auch wenn Sie selbstständig sind, können Sie frei entscheiden, ob Sie in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung oder in einer privaten versichert sein möchten. Private Krankenversicherungen unterscheiden sich jedoch oft in ihren Beiträgen und Leistungen – informieren Sie sich genau und vergleichen Sie immer mehrere Angebote! Auch die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Migrationsberatung für erwachsene Zuwanderer helfen Ihnen gern.

Pflegeversicherung

Die Pflegeversicherung hilft Ihnen, wenn Sie sich im Alter oder auf Grund einer schweren Krankheit nicht mehr selbst versorgen können und auf Pflege angewiesen sind. Außerdem unterstützt die Pflegeversicherung Menschen, die Angehörige pflegen, finanziell und durch Beratung. Wenn Sie Leistungen der Pflegeversicherung in Anspruch nehmen möchten, müssen Sie immer einen Antrag stellen.

Wenn Sie gesetzlich krankenversichert sind, sind Sie automatisch Mitglied der gesetzlichen Pflegeversicherung. Sind Sie hingegen in einer privaten Krankenversicherung versichert, müssen Sie zusätzlich eine private Pflegeversicherung abschließen.

Unfallversicherung

Die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung hilft Ihnen und Ihrer Familie dabei, gesundheitliche und finanzielle Probleme zu lösen, die unmittelbare Folge von Arbeitsunfällen oder Berufskrankheiten sind. Zu den Arbeitsunfällen zählen auch Unfälle auf dem Weg zur Arbeit oder zur Schule sowie von der Arbeit oder Schule nach Hause.

Arbeitslosenversicherung

Bestandteil der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung ist auch die Arbeitslosenversicherung. Versichert sind in ihr alle Personen, die einer bezahlten, mehr als geringfügigen Beschäftigung nachgehen. Mehr zum Thema Unterstützung bei Arbeitslosigkeit finden Sie unter „Zum Thema“ in der rechten Spalte.

Hervorhebung als Adresse: Informationen vor Ort

Hier können Sie sich an Ihrem Wohnort weiter informieren:

  • Migrationsberatung für erwachsene Zuwanderer und Jugendmigrationsdienste
  • Stadt-, Gemeinde-, Kreisverwaltung: Versicherungsamt
  • Verbraucherzentralen
  • Auskunfts- und Beratungsstellen der Deutschen Rentenversicherung
  • Krankenkassen, Versicherungsämter oder private Versicherungen
  • Unfallversicherungsträger.
Datum 29.10.2015

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien