BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Parents and school

Navigation and service

Parents and school

Parents

As parents, you are the experts when it comes to your children.

Your child should achieve a good final school grade and find a career that suits him or her. As parents you have an important task: Attending parents’ evenings and having regular conversations with teachers are just as important in achieving a good final grade as your child attending school regularly and doing his or her homework.

Information and events

It is not easy to understand the German school system and support your child.

Therefore, at the beginning of the school year parents at the school are given a lot of written information, e.g. as letters or leaflets that the children bring home.

Events are held to which partents are invited. This enables you to find out how lessons are organised, what your child will learn, the materials your child needs and who your child’s teachers are. This information and having contact with teachers is important so that you can support your child and work well together with the school.

display as hint: Tip

If you want to support your child, you should know about how the school day works, and keep an eye on how your child is progressing. Schools organise parents' evenings and give opportunities to discuss issues which may arise. You can use these opportunities to talk to your child's teachers and bring up any problems. All German schools have committees of parents' representatives who you can contact to exchange information and experience with other parents! Each Land also has a regional parents' representation committee which will be pleased to help you with advice.

Active in school life

As parents you can also actively participate in school life. Sometimes there is the opportunity to present your culture and language at parties, on excursions or as part of a project. Another opportunity to be involved is through the institutionalised committees and different types of parent representation, above all at form or school level.

In Germany there is not a single name for parent representations. Depending on the Federal Land, they are called Elternbeirat, Elternrat, Elternausschuss, Elternkuratorium or Elternpflegschaft. The aim of these bodies is to facilitate cooperation, based on trust, between school and home, and to involve parents in all important decisions. This applies for example to drawing up, updating or amending teaching programmes and cost structuring.

display as address: Information available locally

You can obtain further information in your area from:

  • the Migration Advice Service for Adult Immigrants (MBE) and Youth Migration Services (JMD)
  • the school authority/education authority
  • direct from the schools
  • parents' representation bodies and parental networks
  • education counselling offices
  • migrant organisations.
Date 17 December 2015

Additional Information

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Service Center

From Monday to Friday
09:00 a.m. to 03:00 p.m.

Telephone: +49 911 943-0
to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2017 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Eltern und Schule

Navigation und Service

Eltern und Schule

Als Eltern sind Sie Experten für Ihre Kinder.

Ihr Kind soll einen guten Schulabschluss erreichen und einen Beruf finden, der zu ihm passt. Als Eltern kommt Ihnen dabei eine wichtige Aufgabe zu: Ihre Teilnahme an Elternabenden und regelmäßige Gespräche mit den Lehrern sind genauso wichtig für einen guten Schulabschluss wie die regelmäßige Teilnahme der Kinder am Unterricht und die Hausaufgaben.

Informationen und Veranstaltungen

Es ist nicht einfach, das deutsche Schulsystem zu verstehen und das eigene Kind zu unterstützen.

Am Anfang des Schuljahres erhalten Eltern von der Schule deshalb viele schriftliche Informationen, zum Beispiel als Briefe oder Merkblätter, die Ihre Kinder mit nach Hause bringen.

Es finden auch Veranstaltungen statt, für die Einladungen verschickt werden. Dort können Sie erfahren, wie der Unterricht organisiert ist, was Ihr Kind lernen wird, welche Materialien Ihr Kind benötigt und wer die Lehrkräfte Ihres Kindes sind. Diese Informationen und der Kontakt zu den Lehrkräften sind wichtig, damit Sie Ihr Kind unterstützen und mit der Schule gut zusammen arbeiten können.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Wenn Sie Ihr Kind unterstützen möchten, sollten Sie sowohl über den Schulalltag als auch über die Fortschritte Ihres Kindes Bescheid wissen. Schulen bieten Elternabende und Elterngespräche an. Hier können Sie mit den Lehrern Ihres Kindes reden und auch Probleme ansprechen. In allen deutschen Schulen gibt es Elternvertretungen. Nehmen Sie Kontakt zur Elternvertretung Ihrer Schule auf, um sich mit anderen Eltern auszutauschen! Außerdem hat jedes Bundesland eine Landeselternvertretung, bei der Sie auch Beratung finden.

Aktiv an der Schule

Als Eltern können Sie sich auch aktiv am Schulleben beteiligen. Manchmal gibt es die Möglichkeit, bei Festen, Ausflügen oder im Rahmen von Projekten Ihre Kultur und Sprache vorzustellen. Eine andere Möglichkeit, sich zu engagieren, sind die institutionalisierten Gremien und Formen der Elternvertretung, vor allem auf Jahrgangsstufen- bzw. Schulebene.

Es gibt in Deutschland keine einheitliche Bezeichnung für diese Elternvertretungen. Sie heißen je nach Bundesland auch Elternbeirat, Elternrat, Elternausschuss, Elternkuratorium oder Elternpflegschaft. Elternvertretungen wollen eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit von Schule und Elternhaus ermöglichen und Eltern an allen wesentlichen Entscheidungen beteiligen. Das gilt beispielsweise für das Erstellen, Fortschreiben oder Ändern von pädagogischen Konzepten und die Kostengestaltung.

Hervorhebung als Adresse: Informationen vor Ort

Hier können Sie sich an Ihrem Wohnort weiter informieren:

  • Migrationsberatung für erwachsene Zuwanderer (MBE) und Jugendmigrationsdienste (JMD)
  • Schulbehörde/Schulamt
  • direkt an den Schulen
  • Elternvertretung und Elternnetzwerke
  • Bildungsberatungsstellen
  • Migrantenorganisationen.
Datum 23.10.2015

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien