BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - The school system

Navigation and service

The school system

All children who live in Germany must go to school.

Compulsory schooling generally begins in the autumn of the year in which a child turns six. Generally, compulsory schooling then lasts until the end of the school year in which a young person turns 18. The rules on compulsory schooling differ according to the Federal Land concerned. It is also possible for a child to start school during a school year.

display as hint: Tip

The earliest age at which your child can attend school depends on the Federal Land in which you live. You should enquire of the educational authority of your community/town or of the migration advisory service (MBE) as to what the regulations in your Federal Land are.

School attendance is also compulsory for children and juveniles with disabilities or with special educational needs.

The education authority will use an official "procedure to determine special educational needs" to ascertain whether a child has such needs. Either the child’s parents or the school must apply for this procedure to be carried out. Depending on the type of special needs that are identified, the child may either continue to attend a general school or be transferred to a school offering special support. There are various types of special schools, which may be referred to as Förderschulen, Sonderschulen, Förderzentren or Schulen für Behinderte, according to the Federal Land.

Attendance at state-run schools is free.

There are also private schools in Germany, which generally charge parents a fee.

display as attention: Important information

Class trips, excursions, school parties, school concerts and swimming lessons are all part of learning and everyday school life in Germany. Your child should take part in these events as they are a valuable way of learning and because such shared activities can boost children’s motivation to learn and their enjoyment of school, as well as improving linguistic skills.

You can find out on the next few pages what types of school exist and what role parents play in their children's everyday school lives.

Date 17 December 2015

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Schulsystem

Navigation und Service

Schulsystem

Alle Kinder, die in Deutschland leben, müssen zur Schule gehen.

Die Schulpflicht beginnt in der Regel im Herbst des Jahres, in dem ein Kind sechs Jahre alt wird. Sie dauert meist bis zum Ende des Schuljahres, in dem die Jugendlichen 18 Jahre alt werden. Die konkreten Regeln zur Schulpflicht unterscheiden sich in den einzelnen Bundesländern. Es gibt auch Einschulungsmöglichkeiten während eines Schuljahres.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Wann Ihr Kind frühestens die Schule besuchen kann oder muss, hängt vom Bundesland ab, in dem Sie leben. Informieren Sie sich bei der Schulbehörde Ihrer Gemeinde/Ihrer Stadt oder bei der Migrationsberatung (MBE) über die Regelungen in Ihrem Bundesland.

Die Schulpflicht gilt auch für Kinder und Jugendliche mit Behinderungen oder sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf.

Über einen möglichen sonderpädagogischen Förderbedarf entscheidet die Schulbehörde nach einem entsprechenden Verfahren. Dieses muss von den Eltern oder der Schule beantragt werden. Je nach Ergebnis kann das Kind entweder weiter eine allgemeine Schule besuchen oder auf eine Förderschule überwiesen werden. Es gibt unterschiedliche Typen von Förderschulen (in einigen Bundesländern werden sie auch Sonderschulen, Förderzentren oder Schulen für Behinderte genannt).

Der Schulbesuch an staatlichen Schulen ist kostenlos.

Zusätzlich gibt es in Deutschland auch Privatschulen. Diese verlangen meist ein Schulgeld von den Eltern.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Hinweis

Klassenreisen, Ausflüge, Schulfeste, Schulaufführungen und Schwimmunterricht sind in Deutschland Teil des Unterrichts und Schulalltags. Ihr Kind sollte an diesen Veranstaltungen teilnehmen, weil es hier viel Neues lernen kann und weil diese gemeinsamen Aktivitäten besonders die Motivation und Schulfreude der Kinder, aber auch ihre sprachlichen Fähigkeiten stärken.

Welche Schularten es gibt und welche Rolle die Eltern im Schulalltag ihrer Kinder spielen, erfahren Sie auf den folgenden Seiten.

Datum 28.10.2015

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien