BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - EU citizens

Navigation and service

EU citizens

Entitlement to attend a course

As an EU citizen you do not have a legal entitlement to attend an integration course. However, the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees can allow you to attend an integration course if you do not yet speak adequate German, if you have particular integration needs and if there are places available on the course. You should complete an application for admission to an integration course.

Please also read the "Notes about the admission application".

Send the completed and signed application form to the regional office of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees responsible for you. You can find out which regional office is responsible for you using the interactive WebGIS search engine.

display as hint: Tip

If you have already found an integration course provider, you can ask them to help you to fill in the form. The course provider will also answer any questions that you may have.

Applying to a course provider

If you have received a certificate of eligibility (Berechtigungsschein) from the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees, you can look for an integration course provider using the WebGIS search engine. You can find a provider in your area here. As soon as you have found one, hand in your certificate of eligibility there.

Choosing the right course

The course provider will help you to select a suitable course. They must also tell you when the next course is due to begin. You can look for a course provider in your area using the WebGIS search engine. The search engine will display the course provider’s address and telephone number.

Travel allowance or reimbursement of travel expenses

If you are attending an integration course and you receive unemployment benefit II or social assistance, you can be reimbursed for travel expenses subject to specific preconditions and on application. The same applies if you have been exempted from contributing to the cost of an integration course. This is conditional on your attending the integration course in accordance with the rules. You will find more information on this from the Notes on integration courses.

You can receive an allowance towards your travel expenses if the immigration authority has obliged you to attend and you do not receive unemployment benefit II. Please sign the application and send it to the regional office responsible for you.

Contribution to costs

You are required to pay 1.95 Euro for every hour of lessons on the integration course (contribution to costs). If you enrolled for your integration course before 1 July 2016, the contribution to costs amounts to 1.55 Euro.

A general integration course consists of 660 hours. This whole course will therefore cost you 1,287 Euro (if you enrolled before 1 July 2016, it will cost you 1,023 Euro). You do not need to pay this amount all at once, but can do so per course section consisting of 100 lesson hours. If you attend a special course, which thus comprises a larger number of lesson units, the contribution to costs will be higher too (e.g. 1,872 Euro for 960 lesson hours).

If you receive unemployment benefit II (Arbeitslosengeld II) or social assistance (Sozialhilfe), you will be exempted from the contribution to costs on request. You can also be exempted from contributing to the costs if you find it particularly hard to pay the contribution to costs due to your economic or personal situation. You will find the necessary application in the right-hand column. Please complete and sign the application and send it to the regional office of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees that is responsible for you.

display as hint: Tip

If you pass the final test at the end of the integration course within two years of the confirmation of eligibility to attend the course being issued, you can, under certain circumstances, claim back half of your payments towards the cost. You must submit and send a signed application to the regional office responsible for you.

Travel expenses

If you attend an integration course and receive unemployment benefit II or social assistance, the travel expenses can be refunded to you if they are necessary.

This also applies if you have been exempted from paying the cost contribution for the integration course. This is contingent on you having attended the integration according to the rules.

display as attention: Note

You will find more information on this in the Information sheet on the integration course.

Date 15 August 2016

Additional Information

Contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact us!


Service Center

From Monday to Friday
09:00 a.m. to 03:00 p.m.

Telephone: +49 911 943-0
to contact form

Contacts and addresses

© 2017 Copyright by Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. All rights reserved.

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - EU-Bürger

Navigation und Service

EU-Bürger

Anspruch auf Teilnahme

Als EU-Bürger haben Sie keinen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf Teilnahme an einem Integrationskurs. Das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge kann Sie aber zum Integrationskurs zulassen, wenn Sie noch nicht ausreichend Deutsch sprechen, besonders integrationsbedürftig sind und es freie Kursplätze gibt. Füllen Sie dafür einen Antrag auf Zulassung zu einem Integrationskurs aus.

Bitte lesen Sie auch das Merkblatt zum Zulassungsantrag.

Schicken Sie den ausgefüllten Antrag unterschrieben an die für Sie zuständige Regionalstelle des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge. Welche Regionalstelle für Sie zuständig ist, erfahren Sie mit Hilfe des Auskunftssystems WebGIS.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Wenn Sie schon einen Integrationskursträger gefunden haben, können Sie ihn bitten, Ihnen beim Ausfüllen des Formulars zu helfen. Der Kursträger beantwortet außerdem Ihre Fragen.

Anmeldung bei einem Kursträger

Wenn Sie vom Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge eine Zulassung zum Integrationskurs (Berechtigungsschein) erhalten haben, können Sie sich einen Integrationskursträger aussuchen. Einen Integrationskursträger in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie mit Hilfe des Auskunftssystems WebGIS. Sobald Sie einen Kursträger gefunden haben, geben Sie dort Ihren Berechtigungsschein ab.

Den passenden Kurs auswählen

Der Kursträger wird Ihnen helfen, einen passenden Kurs auszuwählen. Außerdem muss er Ihnen sagen, wann der nächste Kurs beginnt. Mit Hilfe des Auskunftssystems WebGIS können Sie einen Kursträger in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Das Auskunftssystem zeigt Ihnen die Adresse und die Telefonnummer an.

Fahrtkostenzuschuss oder Fahrtkostenerstattung

Wenn Sie an einem Integrationskurs teilnehmen und Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialhilfe beziehen, werden Ihnen unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auf Antrag die Fahrtkosten erstattet. Das gilt auch, wenn Sie vom Kostenbeitrag für den Integrationskurs befreit wurden. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass Sie ordnungsgemäß am Integrationskurs teilnehmen. Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte dem Merkblatt zum Integrationskurs.

Einen Zuschuss zu Ihren Fahrtkosten können Sie erhalten, wenn die Ausländerbehörde Sie zur Teilnahme verpflichtet hat und Sie kein Arbeitslosengeld II bekommen. Den Antrag schicken Sie ebenfalls unterschrieben an die für Sie zuständige Regionalstelle.

Kostenbeitrag

Für jede Unterrichtsstunde des Integrationskurses müssen Sie 1,55 Euro zahlen (Kostenbeitrag). Wenn Sie sich vor dem 1. Juli 2012 zu Ihrem Integrationskurs angemeldet haben, beträgt der Kostenbeitrag 1,00 Euro. Den Rest übernimmt das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge.

Ein allgemeiner Integrationskurs besteht aus 660 Stunden. Deshalb kostet Sie dieser gesamte Kurs 1,023 Euro (bei Anmeldung vor dem 1. Juli 2012 kostet er Sie 660,00 Euro). Sie müssen diesen Betrag nicht auf einmal zahlen, sondern können ihn pro Kursabschnitt á 100 Unterrichtsstunden entrichten. Wenn Sie einen Spezialkurs mit entsprechend mehr Unterrichtseinheiten besuchen, fällt auch der Kostenbeitrag höher aus (z.B. 1.488 Euro bei 960 Unterrichtsstunden).

Wenn Sie Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialhilfe bekommen, werden Sie auf Antrag vom Kostenbeitrag befreit. Sie können auch dann vom Kostenbeitrag befreit werden, wenn Ihnen die Zahlung des Kostenbeitrages aufgrund Ihrer wirtschaftlichen oder persönlichen Situation besonders schwer fällt. Den erforderlichen Antrag finden Sie rechts in der Spalte. Schicken Sie den Antrag ausgefüllt und unterschrieben an die für Sie zuständige Regionalstelle des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge. Welche Regionalstelle für Sie zuständig ist, erfahren Sie mit Hilfe des Auskunftssystems WebGIS.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Wenn Sie den Abschlusstest am Ende des Integrationskurses innerhalb von zwei Jahren nach Ausstellung der Teilnahmeberechtigung bestehen, können Sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Hälfte Ihres Kostenbeitrages zurückbekommen. Hierfür müssen Sie einen Antrag stellen, den Sie unterschrieben an die für Sie zuständige Regionalstelle senden.

Fahrtkosten

Wenn Sie an einem Integrationskurs teilnehmen und Arbeitslosengeld II oder Sozialhilfe beziehen, können Ihnen die Fahrtkosten erstattet werden, sofern sie notwendig sind.

Das gilt auch, wenn Sie vom Kostenbeitrag für den Integrationskurs befreit wurden. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass Sie ordnungsgemäß am Integrationskurs teilnehmen.

Hervorhebung als Achtung: Hinweis

Weitere Informationen hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte dem Merkblatt zum Integrationskurs.

Datum 13.01.2016

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien