BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Parental allowance and parental leave

Navigation and service

Parental allowance and parental leave

In Germany, the State helps you raise your children. Parental allowance and parental leave are the most important benefits for parents.

Parental leave

Parental leave offers you the opportunity of looking after your child whilst allowing you to maintain contact with your working life.

As an employee, you are entitled to parental leave until your child’s turns three. You are not obliged to work during this period. Your job remains open to you and your contract cannot be terminated by your employer. Parental leave can be taken by the mother and father individually or jointly. Grandparents may also be entitled to parental leave if the parent is still a minor or is in the final or penultimate year of a training course that was commenced when the young parent was still a minor. The grandparents only have a claim for periods during which neither of the child's parents is taking up parental leave themselves.

display as checklist: Checklist

It is important for you to

  • be living in the same household as your child
  • be largely taking care of the child yourself, and
  • not working for more than 30 hours per week while taking parental leave.

You must submit the application for parental leave to your employer no later than seven weeks before parental leave is due to begin. When the parental leave period expires, your employer must offer you a job of equal standing.

For children born up to 30 June 2015, a maximum of twelve months from the parental leave can also be transferred until when the child turns eight, provided the employer consents to this. For children born from 1 July 2015 onwards, up to 24 months of parental leave can be claimed between the ages of two and seven. This parental leave between the ages of two and seven for births from 1 July 2015 must be registered 13 weeks prior to commencement.

Parental allowance and Parental allowance "Plus"

Parental allowance is a state benefit for parents who would like to look after their child themselves after the birth, and therefore are not in full-time work or not working at all. Parents who were not working before the birth can also receive the parental allowance.

For births from 1 July 2015 onwards, parental allowance is available in two variants: as a basic parental allowance which corresponds to the previous parental allowance arrangement, and as parental allowance "Plus" (ElterngeldPlus). Mothers and fathers can use the latter to combine drawing parental allowance and part-time work. Parents who return to work early on a part-time basis receive parental allowance for a longer period.

The most important things you need to know about parental allowance:

  • Parental allowance is roughly two-thirds of your previous income – at least 300 up to a maximum of 1,800 Euro.
  • Parental allowance is paid for twelve months.
  • If mothers and fathers share the parental allowance, they together receive parental allowance for a maximum of 14 months. Each parent can draw a minimum of two and a maximum of twelve months' parental allowance.
  • ElterngeldPlus is calculated in the same way as the basic parental allowance, but is at most half the amount of parental allowance to which parents who have no part-time income would be entitled after the birth. Having said that, it is paid for twice as long: a basic parental allowance month = two parental allowance "Plus" months.
  • If mothers and fathers both decide to work part-time simultaneously – for four months in parallel and between 25 to 30 hours per week – they will receive four additional ElterngeldPlus months each.
  • Lone parents are entitled to the full 14 months' parental allowance and the partnership bonus.
  • You will also receive parental allowance if you were not in employment prior to the birth.

display as checklist: Checklist

To receive parental allowance you must fulfil the following conditions:

  • You look after and raise your child after the birth yourself.
  • You live in the same household as your child.
  • You do not work for more than 30 hours a week.
  • You are resident or customarily resident in Germany.

Nationals of EU Member States, and of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, are entitled to parental allowance in the same way as German nationals if they live or work in Germany.

Anyone holding a settlement permit automatically satisfies these conditions. Those who have a residence permit are only entitled to parental allowance if they are or have also been entitled to work in Germany. Parental advice is only paid after a three-year stay in Germany to individuals who have received a residence permit in hardship cases, for provisional protection, on suspension of deportation or because obstacles apply precluding their leaving the country.

Please seek advice about the precise regulations.

You must apply for parental allowance in writing. The Federal Länder have set up parental allowance offices for this purpose.

display as hint: Tip

You can calculate the amount of the parental allowance that you shoud receive using a parental allowance calculator operated by the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs.

display as address: Information available locally

You can find out further information about local services in your area from:

  • the town, local and municipal authorities
  • family counselling offices
  • parental allowance offices
Date 17 December 2015

BAMF - Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge - Elterngeld und Elternzeit

Navigation und Service

Elterngeld und Elternzeit

In Deutschland unterstützt Sie der Staat dabei, Ihre Kinder aufzuziehen. Elterngeld und Elternzeit sind die wichtigsten Angebote für Eltern.

Elternzeit

Die Elternzeit bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihr Kind zu betreuen und gleichzeitig den Anschluss an das Berufsleben nicht zu verlieren.

Als Arbeitnehmerin oder Arbeitnehmer haben Sie bis zum dritten Geburtstag Ihres Kindes einen Anspruch auf Elternzeit. In diesem Zeitraum müssen Sie nicht arbeiten - ihr Arbeitsplatz bleibt bestehen und darf vom Arbeitgeber nicht gekündigt werden. Elternzeit können Mütter und Väter alleine oder gemeinsam nehmen. Auch Großeltern können einen Anspruch auf Elternzeit haben, wenn der Elternteil noch minderjährig ist oder sich in einer Ausbildung befindet, die aufgenommen wurde, als der junge Elternteil noch minderjährig war. Der Anspruch für Großeltern besteht nur für Zeiten, in denen keiner der Elternteile des Kindes selbst Elternzeit beansprucht.

Hervorhebung als Checkliste: Checkliste

Wichtig ist, dass Sie:

  • mit dem Kind in einem Haushalt leben
  • das Kind überwiegend selbst betreuen und erziehen
  • während der Elternzeit nicht mehr als 30 Wochenstunden arbeiten.

Den Antrag auf Elternzeit bis zur Vollendung des dritten Geburtstags müssen Sie spätestens sieben Wochen vor Beginn der Elternzeit bei Ihrem Arbeitgeber einreichen. Nach der Elternzeit muss Ihr Arbeitgeber Ihnen einen gleichwertigen Arbeitsplatz bieten.

Bei Geburten bis zum 30. Juni 2015 ist mit Zustimmung des Arbeitgebers auch ein Anteil der Elternzeit von bis zu 12 Monaten bis zum achten Geburtstag des Kindes übertragbar. Für Geburten ab dem 1. Juli 2015 können bis zu 24 Monate Elternzeit zwischen dem dritten und achten Lebensjahr des Kindes beansprucht werden. Diese Elternzeit zwischen dem dritten und achten Lebensjahr des Kindes für Geburten ab dem 1. Juli 2015 muss 13 Wochen vor deren Beginn angemeldet werden.

Elterngeld und ElterngeldPlus

Das Elterngeld ist eine staatliche Unterstützung für Eltern, die ihr Kind nach der Geburt eine Zeit lang selbst betreuen möchten und deshalb während dieser Zeit nicht oder nicht voll erwerbstätig sind. Auch Eltern, die vor der Geburt nicht berufstätig waren, können Elterngeld erhalten.

Das Elterngeld gibt es für Geburten ab 1.Juli 2015 in zwei Varianten als Basiselterngeld, das der bisherigen Elterngeldregelung entspricht, und als ElterngeldPlus. Beim ElterngeldPlus können Mütter und Väter Elterngeldbezug und Teilzeitarbeit miteinander kombinieren. Eltern, die frühzeitig in Teilzeit wieder in den Beruf einsteigen, bekommen länger Elterngeld.

Die wichtigsten Informationen zum Elterngeld:

  • Das Elterngeld beträgt rund zwei Drittel des bisherigen Einkommens – mindestens 300 und höchstens 1.800 Euro.
  • Elterngeld wird für zwölf Monate gezahlt.
  • Wenn Mutter und Vater sich die Elternzeit teilen, bekommen Sie zusammen maximal 14 Monate lang Basiselterngeld. Ein Elternteil kann dabei mindestens zwei und höchstens zwölf Monate Elterngeld beziehen.
  • ElterngeldPlus berechnet sich wie das Basiselterngeld, beträgt aber maximal die Hälfte des Elterngeldbetrags, der Eltern ohne Teilzeiteinkommen nach der Geburt zustünde. Dafür wird es für den doppelten Zeitraum gezahlt: ein Basiselterngeldmonat = zwei ElterngeldPlus-Monate.
  • Wenn Mutter und Vater in vier aufeinanderfolgenden Monaten gleichzeitig zwischen 25 und 30 Wochenstunden arbeiten, bekommt jeder Elternteil also vier zusätzliche Monatsbeträge ElterngeldPlus (sogenannte Partnerschaftsbonusmonate).
  • Alleinerziehenden stehen die vollen 14 Monate Basiselterngeld und der Partnerschaftsbonus zu.
  • Auch, wenn Sie vor der Geburt keine Arbeitsstelle hatten, können Sie Elterngeld erhalten.

Hervorhebung als Checkliste: Checkliste Elterngeld

Um Elterngeld zu erhalten, müssen Sie folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie betreuen und erziehen ihr Kind nach der Geburt selbst.
  • Sie leben mit Ihrem Kind in einem Haushalt zusammen.
  • Sie sind nicht mehr als 30 Stunden pro Woche berufstätig.
  • Sie haben Ihren Wohnsitz oder Ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland.

Staatsangehörige von EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, Islands, Liechtensteins, Norwegens und der Schweiz haben ebenso wie Deutsche einen Anspruch auf Elterngeld, wenn sie in Deutschland erwerbstätig sind oder in Deutschland wohnen.

Wer eine Niederlassungserlaubnis besitzt, erfüllt diese Voraussetzungen ohne weiteres. Wer eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis besitzt, erfüllt die Anspruchsvoraussetzungen nur dann, wenn sie oder er auch zur Erwerbstätigkeit in Deutschland berechtigt ist oder war. Erst nach einem Aufenthalt in Deutschland von drei Jahren kann Elterngeld erhalten, wer eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Härtefällen, zum vorübergehenden Schutz, bei Aussetzung der Abschiebung oder wegen des Bestehens von Ausreisehindernissen besitzt.

Lassen Sie sich über die genauen Regelungen beraten.

Das Elterngeld muss schriftlich beantragt werden. Die Bundesländer haben hierfür Elterngeldstellen eingerichtet.

Hervorhebung als Tipp: Tipp

Die voraussichtliche Höhe des Elterngeldes, das Sie erhalten, können Sie mit dem Elterngeldrechner des Bundesfamilienministeriums berechnen (siehe Link in der rechten Spalte).

Hervorhebung als Adresse: Informationen vor Ort

Hier können Sie sich an Ihrem Wohnort weiter informieren:

  • Stadt-, Kreis-, Gemeindeverwaltung
  • Familienberatungsstellen
  • Elterngeldstellen
Datum 21.10.2015

Direktlinks zu den sozialen Medien